EVOKING A SENSE OF PLACE

Welcome to Brunei, Kris, Kevin and Roland (and a big hello to fellow Bruneian photographers),

Introducing Kris LeBoutillier international photojournalist and author of the book On the Iron Rails of the Orient who has photographed assignments in a number of countries in Asia with thought provoking photographs published in National Geographic Traveler. In his presentation, Kris shared insights and tips that I consider useful along with a visual journey that inspires and stirs the senses. One of a number of things Kris looks for in a photograph is meaningful and creative use of light. The images below are my personal interpretation of light as seen through my 5DII and 50mm f/1.4 at ISO up to 6,400 in a very dim room. Before that some pictures of the Redrock Micro cinema rig for the EOS 5D Mark II—a serious tool for contemporary cinematographers who produce serious stuff in high definition.

An EOS 5D Mark II miniature that's more than just eye candy. It's also a 2GB pendrive with meticulous attention to details including a slightly oversized EF24-105 kit lens replica. What can I say, excellent choice for a door gift—we're all DELIGHTED!

↑ A great addition to my EOS 5D and 30 Million EF Lenses Anniversary miniatures

One of a series of photos of the 5D Mark II fitted with the Redrock Micro cinematic video kit mounted to the EF70-200mm f/2.8 lens. Seen here are the microFilter trays.

The white "ring" is the microFollowFocus with 35mm lens gearing for accurate and repeatable focusing.
Mr Steven Goh turning the dial on the microFollowFocus and using a HDMI LCD monitor that's tethered to the 5D Mark II for real time display.
The underbelly of the follow focus, mattebox and baseplate stainless steel rods
An associate and highly regarded professional cinematographer and photographer David Cheok checks out the SGD$5k retail Redrock Micro kit. Bro, any closer and it's sold 🙂
In focus is the Swing-away mattebox for light management and easy access to changing lenses

"The Moment. Something you can't plan for, it just happens. You always need to have your camera ready for the shot." advises Kris
"Learn to use your flash. Digital LOVES flash" emphasizes Kris as he describes use of flash to seize the moment.

The Big picture and the little details. The sort of stuff Kris looks for in a picture are: Moments, Light, Landscapes, Cityscapes, Details and Portraits
"The more you shoot the better your shot" and "never miss the details, the little things that make a place special"

Kevin Chua, Country Manager of Canon Singapore with one of Kris' large prints.
According to Kris, the EF16-35mm f/2.8 is one of his favourite work lenses. I own the EF17-40 f/4 and have recently found myself thinking of the EF16-35mm Mk II. My favourite lens on the 5DII is the EF70-200mm f/2.8 IS.
Something to smile about—another one of Kris' masterpieces unrolled to his audience.
"Capturing photographs that tell a story" A shot of the highly inspired and excited crowd by Kris at the end of the event and here's the story: WE WANT MORE! Click on image to see large size ↑
Here's a shot I took of Kris with the Canon and Interhouse folks who were responsible for hosting us all. Thank you very much! Click on image to see large size ↑
A postcard souvenir from Kris LeBoutillier that I got him to autograph on.

11 thoughts on “EVOKING A SENSE OF PLACE”

  1. Hi Jan, Seems that you also interested in the redrock micro. Awesome tips from Kris though, can’t believe you manage to quote most of his speech.

    Another miniature for your collection. For me, finally I got a 5dmk2 (miniature for a start).

    50mm f1.4 is fun to play with, still love those lens. Tried the 1dsmk3 with the 50mm f1.2 L, wow!!! eventhough it’s a complicated body to work with.

    Like

    1. Wow, I had no idea you were among the invitees present. I remembered we’re supposed to meet up but since our paths did not cross I was under the impression that you couldn’t make it to event (considering we only meet once a year at the seminar)!

      The pictures of Kris were mostly shot with the 50mm f/1.4. Not going to bother with the f/1.2 unless some kind charitable soul feels so strongly that I should have one 🙂

      Like

      1. He He, I saw you, and your 5d mk2 when Kris borrowed your camera.

        I was busy testing the 1dsmk3 during the tea break.

        Like

  2. Unbelievable shots and great article you wrote JaN. Never expected you to just sit in one position next to me keep on clicking ur 5dmk2 shutter ended to a very very Interesting story. LoVE THE No 1 Shot… Nice n sharp.. I learned something from you..hehe.

    Like

  3. Beautiful stunning shots! I guess when all photographers meet and be inspired by one another, it makes the whole environment more exciting, educational and beautiful! =)

    Like

    1. Sure is! Previous choice of venue has been a little claustrophobic and distant (for us out of towners). The miniature was a surprise when I was (cultivated from previous seminars) expecting to get yet another copy of the Canon LENS WORK III book (not to say we don’t appreciate the gesture but there’s a limit to how many times we can be taunted by pictures of lenses we simply cannot afford). This time the Interhouse team managed to really delight us all.

      In more ways than one, I find it more rewarding to sit in a presentation where professional photojournalist are involved. Nothing says it more than listening and looking pictures that are produced by a field tested working pro. This goes a long way to inspire confidence beyond the usual sales pitch by Canon folks! I don’t know about the rest but stuff like this works for me. My cup of tea exactly!

      Like

  4. Another great event! Wonderful story and pics! Wish I could be there too!

    I’m reading on Tom Ang’s work at the moment but will browse for Kris’s work soon. Very inspiring!

    Like

  5. wish I were there tooo, is there any chance that I can have that miniature as a gift without attending the workshop?! :>

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.