AN INSPIRED GARDEN SALAD

For a while, I watched Celebrity chef Jamie Oliver do his thing and enjoyed his casual approach to good food and healthy eating.  And while most of what I cooked (and the mess I had left behind for the maid to clean up) had little to do with his shows, he’s been a source of inspiration nonetheness for getting me away from the computer and into the kitchen. Every since Astro introduced the Asian Food Channel, there’s suddenly more than a handful of new chefs each a celebrity in their own domain.

2008-salad.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

Of the lot, Canadian chef Michael Smith is now on my radar of interesting and inspirational chefs to watch and he appears on two shows, Chef At Large and Chef At Home, back to back 30 mins each. Last night, in Chef At Home, Michael highlighted a popular key ingredient to a great salad–Balsamic Vinegar.

With simplicity in mind and a fridgeful of greens, reds and various other veggies, I put together a large bowl of salad using purple and green cabbage, cherry tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, baby carrots, cucumber slices, one hard boiled egg and anchovies mixed evenly with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

One thought on “AN INSPIRED GARDEN SALAD”

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.