Brunei Darussalam

CATCH THAT TRAIN

It’s no secret that I like Japanese food a lot. My wife, my daughter and to an extent my son do too and I think (coz I never asked) what attracts them to Excapade Sushi Restaurant in Kuala Belait is the runaway train that takes centre stage. Kids are fascinated by this train set and I admit, I am too and have been curious about the possibility of owning one. Equally fascinating is how a hobbyist train set has transformed the way food is served DIY by taking the plate of your fancy right off any one of the railroad cars. The locomotive with all its attention to details is no less interesting except there’s no smoke although that’s a no-no these days.

excapade2008-004.jpg
For a long time now, Japanese green tea is what we adults have and iced milo for the kids. That changed, at least for me, when I discovered they also serve a mean iced lemon tea is and since then, it has taken precedence over green tea whenever I remembered.
excapade2008-006.jpg excapade2008-008.jpg
Screaming red locomotive, powerful, quiet yet smokeless. The only items conspicuous are the miles of coloured plates it hauls non-stop. My son Jamie at one point got so fascinated by something the chef was preparing, he leaned over the track and mom pulled him back like a second before causing a major derailment. That would not be cool!

Health is good but do not over indulge in food. Take note of food hygiene and avoid eating uncooked food. — Rooster, Zodiac 2008, Geomancy Hut

So I cheated and feel pretty miffed about warnings to stay away from my favourite Japanese dish–Salmon Sahimi. I wonder if an extra slice of lemon would make it OK to indulge. I am also a big fan of lemons and its alkalinic properties. I know one thing though, it’s advisable not to let kids eat uncooked salmon. There’s toxins in these fish however fresh that may be tolerable by adults but may not bode well with the little ones.
excapade2008-005.jpg
You know you’re in the Oil Town (or in a town next to THE oil town) when you see this logo other than the gas stations
excapade2008-001.jpg excapade2008-003.jpg
“Seaweed” it’s called and recently became a popular starter for us right next to baby octopus. Jewel refuses to even try the baby oct, apparently she finds it hard to eat something so ‘cute’ but she has no hesitation when it comes to unagi (eel) below.
excapade2008-007.jpg
excapade2008-002.jpg
Fried rice is a universal favourite with kids. As long a restaurant has fried rice or chicken rice no matter how exotic will have the kids behaving their best.

On the evening of the official opening of Kaizen Sushi in Seria, I’m waiting for fellow blogger and Seria resident Spiritual Garden to give us her unbiased review. I, the conservative individual that I am, preferred to have a predictable dinner with the family and leave Kaizen Sushi to try another day.

All images © Jan Shim Photography

Related links

4 thoughts on “CATCH THAT TRAIN

  1. I’ve never tried any of the branches of Escapade Shushi, does all of them have trains sets ? Sounds interesting. Not a great fan of shushi, but I love Iced Lemon Tea, and if theirs are any good, I’ll probably be a regular diner.

    You know Jan, you should get paid for these reviews. 😀

    Like

  2. Hi Zul,

    EXCAPADE has to be one of the frequently misspelled words these days so you’re forgiven to have done the same. I was once guilty of that myself. Excapade has a outlet in Kiulap, Gadong and Kuala Belait and each one of them has a train and if I recall correctly, the locomotive at each outlet is different but I may be mistaken. It’s only at the ‘home’ outlet that I paid this much attention to it.

    Excapade is at present and has been for a while the most happening Japanese cuisine hang out in Brunei and you should definitely be part of that exciting statistics even if you don’t dig Sushi. I am not a fan of Sushi either and hardly order them. My favs are baby octopus, seaweed, Cha Soba (cold green noodles), soft shelled crabs, salmon sashimi and several others I don’t seem to recall at this time. It’s a common misconception that Japanese restaurants serve only Sushi and having done several weekends of shooting their new menu, I learned that they also have various non traditional Japanese menu to accommodate the wider tastes of their clients. Which probably explains their popularity.

    As for getting paid for my reviews, I don’t think I’ve done a bona fide review for any outlets that I don’t already have been paid for in way of value-added photography services such as Vintage Rose. I’m always on the look out for alternatives to photography and have so far dabbled in corporate writing such as tag lines, slogans, advertising blurps and so forth. And I see food reviews to complement my food photography very well.

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

