Brunei Darussalam

Less Is More: Taiwanese Street Food Culture in Black and White

Street food is huge in Taiwan and from what I’ve been told competition between push-cart vendors and hawker stalls is fierce. When it comes to eating, Taiwanese will happily stand in line to get their chow rather than head elsewhere for second best. I have had the pleasure of seeing this for myself even managed to get a table and survived the ordeal normally associated with eating in seriously crowded places. Between one extreme to another, I managed to capture some of the everyday gastronomic moments in Taipei. I thought these street photos say a lot more in varying shades of gray than in colour which I found rather distracting. I hope you like this series as much as I enjoyed processing them in black and white.

Also in Taipei: Five Dime Boathouse Restaurant in Taiwan An Architectural Marvel

Street or hawker food vendors are regularly featured on TV and subsequently published in magazines or vice-versa. Taiwanese will not hesitate to stand in line for good food and this is regardless of whether it rains or not (my wife and I stood in line for what is considered Taiwan's famous large fried chicken).

Life in the big city: Taiwanese undeterred by rain

Taiwan2010-1265
Good food is a lot more enjoyable if you were in the company of good friends with whom you can have great conversation or family members who share the same passion.

Taiwan2010-1195
This photo was almost a hit or miss for me until I noticed the chatty exchange between the two seated female diners a direct contrast to the two cooks standing right in front of them.

Taiwan2010-1197

Taiwan2010-1201

Taiwan2010-1206
The boy at the far end of this table could wait no longer, reaches out with his chopsticks while the cook has their order covered.
Taiwan2010-1211
Massive energy saver bulbs stall owners make no attempt to put covers on much like the massive woks these ladies are cooking a large serving of veggies in.

Taiwan2010-1213

Taiwan2010-1231
Eggs have to be one of the most consumed items here. I see more than just a few stalls with over sized hot plates that can accommodate a dozen eggs at any one time, including the photo immediately below.
Taiwan2010-1240
A female helper at this stall cracks yet another egg to meet demands from their non stop orders.

4 thoughts on “Less Is More: Taiwanese Street Food Culture in Black and White

    1. Thank you. Good morning and greetings from sunny hot all year round Brunei (except when it rains). I shot with the Canon EOS 5D Mark II and if memory serves me correctly, I had the 50mm f/1.4 on the camera at the time.

      Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

