Brunei Darussalam

Oriental Pied Hornbill: My Favourite Bird is Back in Town

There was a time when their cries would be my alarm clock to get up in the morning. There was also a time when getting up in the morning excited me — the rush to grab my gear, the uncertainty of the day’s catch. If you’ve just recently followed my blog updates, you wouldn’t have figured me to have an interest in birds. Then one day, they kinda disappeared from the my air space and I blamed the lumbering of their favourite control tower to be the reason. I was so infuriated but at the same time glad no hornbills were harmed in the destructive process.

Shortly after I published this post in the morning, I left for a series of meetings in the Brunei capital only to receive an interesting email when I got home. Turns out that this little fella is called Billy named by a University of Brunei Darussalam student who researched hornbill behavior in Panaga 10 years ago.

“YESSSSS!!!!!! the abnormal (unique) casque is unmistakable. It’s amazing. he is still alive n well after 10 years! he looks good n healthy.” — Gregory T.

When this hornbill isn't making noise, it's tidying and cleaning its feathers with its beak (also called preening) perched on a neighbour's antenna. Love this composition backdropped against puffy clouds.
The notch on the bird's casque is unique according to Gregory who is certain this is the same hornbill he had researched a decade back.This picture is also on Facebook, click on image to view other comments on Facebook
Click on image to view comments on Facebook

Hornbills of Brunei | An Outing Extraordinaire: Hornbill in Flight | The Other Flights on the Golf Course | A Wild Side of Seria | When Birds Get Territorial | Up Close and Personal with the Oriental Pied Hornbill | Hornbill Ushering Monday Blues

2 thoughts on “Oriental Pied Hornbill: My Favourite Bird is Back in Town

  1. Beautiful pics Jan. It is March now so the Pied hornbills would have finished their breeding season. In 2002, because Billy was so easy to spot, near the end of my research, i actually followed him to a nest hole in Panaga where his mate and 2 chicks were in! a few days later, the 2 beautiful chicks flew out of the nest. Me and my supervisor assumed months earlier Billy was a loner as no female hornbills would be interested in that ‘ugly’ casque. Shows what we humans know!!!!!

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

