Brunei Darussalam

Who is Madame Tussauds?

Madame Tussauds is a wax museum in London with branches in a number of major cities (current count 13 including London). Founded by wax sculptor Marie Tussaud Madame Tussauds is a major tourist attraction in London, displaying waxworks of historical and royal figures, film stars, sports stars and famous murderers. Madame Tussauds in Hong Kong is located at The Peak Tower right next to where my family and I had lunch at Cafe Deco Bar & Grill on one stormy morning in 2010. Most people would immediately associate their first visit [to Madame Tussauds] with the many international celebrities they know but few would pay much attention to the real celebrity — Marie Tussaud — whose self-portrait wax figurine is dwarfed by the tall celebs around her.

Visit my Madame Tussauds photo gallery on Facebook

Madame Tussaud’s wax museum has grown to become a major tourist attraction all over the world. I photographed this self-portrait in Hong Kong on Sept 12 2010.

5 thoughts on “Who is Madame Tussauds?

  1. Care to share how you would set up your camera when you shot the waxed figure? Did you consider using flash or just a high ISO did enough? Still amaze with your work mate.

    Like

    1. Thanks Sofian. The 5D Mark II’s remarkable high ISO performance makes shooting in low light situation possible. Using flash on these wax figurines would 1) ruin their skin tone 2) possibly create unsightly hotspots that you will no doubt try to clone out during post processing. I used a 50mm f/1.4mm lens that day and there’s just so much more exposure latitude to play with if you get what I mean.

      Like

      1. Thanks for the reply. Sadly, I still haven’t got my hand on 5D yet. I had a holiday last December and having to travel with the kids means I couldn’t bring my 50D with me. So, I brought along my G12 instead and we went to visit the Tussaud there. Most figurines I shot were without flash too but unfortunately the ISO can only goes up to 640 before it starts to produce lots of noise.

        Anyways, thanks again for the tips. I will keep following you post and stare at your work without any doubt or bored. Take care.

        Like

        1. I’m curious. Did you lock your G12’s ISO to 640 based on a personal ‘noise threshold limit’ or was that something the camera set while in Auto ISO mode? On my G11 I normally leave camera in Auto ISO and Smart Auto mode for most situation.

          However if I had to shoot inside Madame Tussauds with it, I think I can get away with good pictures leaving ISO in Auto but exposure in P Mode with White Balance set to Tungsten. The colour temperature there is very warm and shooting in Tungsten will have eliminated a lot of yellow cast to give you more natural looking pictures. The camera’s Face Detection will easily take care of focus relative to their faces. I’m confident ambient lighting is sufficient (but only just) to produce fast enough shutter speed. The biggest challenge at a place like this are the people who hog the popular figurines.

          Update: I just uploaded pictures of international artistes past and present, world leaders, musicians, etc on Facebook.

          Like

          1. No, I did not. I had my camera on S mode to have a slower speed as slow as my hand can possibly hold it steady. While for white balance, I set it in AUTO as I normally shoot in Raw file. I mentioned ISO 640 specifically was because any ISO higher than that caused me lots of time on post processing work to reduce the noise and at the same time lost some sharpness of the photos due the trade-in with noise reduction.

            Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

