Brunei Darussalam

11 Degrees Sports Cafe At The Kuala Belait Waterfront

The last time I blogged about 11 Degrees Sports Cafe was in 2009 back when they had mainland Chinese chefs that gave diners a good show of what’s cooking. Live cooking has the added appeal of knowing the food you order is freshly prepared if not just for the idea of concept of an open kitchen where chefs engage with the patrons in an interactive manner.

Photo from 2009: Mainland Chinese chef flipping crispy Chinese pancake

| Click on the image below to view a larger version |

This place was packed when I arrived and the weather was sunny. As soon as I was done with breakfast, the skies turned gray with gusty winds and at the slight hint of a drizzle, patrons were told to move inside. I waited for what I considered a moment of calm and got this photo with my PowerShot G11 that epitomizes this eatery by the waterfront.
Cakoi Cheong Fun, a thin roll made from a wide strip of rice noodles, filled with shrimp, beef, vegetables, or other ingredients. Sweet soy sauce is poured over the dish upon serving. I prefer mine without the Cakoi.
A very popular Dim Sum dish simply called Carrot Cake and something I consider 'safe' to order when all else fails. You can tell from the 2009 pictures in the link that I am pretty predictable when it comes to what I'll likely order. Notice the same Carrot Cake and Cheong Fun in the pictures, an indication that I'm not terribly adventurous when it comes to food.

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

