Brunei Darussalam

WILD ABOUT MACRO PHOTOGRAPHY USING STACKED EXTENSION TUBES

Of late a pair of hornbills made their way to my neighbourhood and in their usual discretion, they announce their arrival with their signature piercing cries. Occasionally I would step outside to see what they’re up and this time, they’re eyeing my neighbour’s papaya tree. One afternoon, at an adjacent balcony to my studio door, I noticed from a distance a pair of mating flies. Realizing this opportunity is far and few, I quickly stacked both Extension Tubes so I could get as close to the subjects as technology allows. Excited, I shared this on my Facebook Page and am sharing this here with all Shimworld followers.

A macro photograph of two flies mating captured hand-held using a 5D Mark II with EF 100mm f/2.8 L Hybrid made possible with a pair of Canon Extension Tubes stacked for increased intimacy πŸ™‚

My favourite macro lens: The Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Hybrid L

Two Canon Extension Tubes EF12 II and EF25II stacked onto the EF 100mm f/2.8 L Macro

If you’re wild about macro photography check out the Tiny Creatures In Our Backyard macro photography exhibition at Times Square Shopping Centre, a BSRC Photography Section effort supported by Brunei Tourism and Time Square on Sept 10-11, 2011

6 thoughts on “WILD ABOUT MACRO PHOTOGRAPHY USING STACKED EXTENSION TUBES

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

