October 4, 2011: Hotel Fort Canning conferred the Urban Redevelopment Authority’s Architectural Heritage Award (AHA) for 2011.
Fort Canning Park’s heritage as an exclusive and historical landmark is being revived with the opening of a fashionable boutique hotel, Hotel Fort Canning. Nestled between Orchard Road, the Clarke Quay entertainment hub and Central Business District, Hotel Fort Canning features a collection of 86 stylised rooms and suites designed to to offer guests premium services and facilities in a one-of-a-kind location. Formerly the British Far East Command Headquarters during World War II, the majestic colonial building which dates back to 1926 has been sensitively restored to maintain a sense of the old style colonial glamour with many original features including a multi-columned façade.
Rich History Intertwined With Singapore. Fort Canning Hill, originally known as Bukit Larangan (or “Forbidden Hill” in Malay) has been a local landmark in the city since Singapore’s earliest recorded history. It has been the exclusive address of many of Singapore’s rulers and colonial leaders dating back to the 14th century when it was the site for the palatial resort of former Majapahit kings, then in colonial times became the location for the residence of colonial governors starting with Sir Stamford Raffles. It was recorded as Forbidden Hill prior to the arrival of Stamford Raffles in 1819 because “early local settlers were wary of ascending the hill as they believed it was the site of palaces built by their ancestral kings.”