Brunei Darussalam

IT’S ALL FRENCH TO ME

Share

[tweetmeme]

On May 25th, I received an email from a French publisher in Paris requesting permission to use three images from my Cleaning the 5D MkII Viewfinder post. The technical book is scheduled for August 18th release and contains more than 1200 pictures, 400 pages in 4-colors in a big format (22×24 cm) with an initial small print-run intended for the professional community. The three images appear in Chapter 10 on Page 365. Needless to say, I’m delighted to be a part of  a leading French filmmaker’s technical book and a contribution to the technical community.

Bonjour Jan,

I am in charge in Graphics arts, Cinema, Video and Photo books at edition Eyrolles (Paris). We are going to publish a professional book (the first one in France) about Full HD and EOS HDSLR (Author Sebastien Devaud) The author would like to show in the end of his book three pictures from yours, about HDSLR cleaning. We need your permission to reproduce these pictures in the book (and its possible new editions or translations).

All the best,

Stéphanie www.eyrolles.com
Responsable éditoriale secteur Graphisme-Photo

Tourner en vidéo HD avec les reflex Canon – Sébastien Devaud
© Groupe Eyrolles 2010 | ISBN 9782212126471

Click on image to view the full cover spread of Sebastien's new book.
Who would have thought that pictures taken on one Sunday afternoon in my studio would end up being published in a foreign book authored by a leading French filmmaker? (click on image to view large version)

3 thoughts on “IT’S ALL FRENCH TO ME

  1. I remember these three photographs from your older post. I obviously don’t have a clue what’s going on in each one of them but I always love admiring quality photos even though I’m no expert in photography.

    As always, love your work Jan! That looks like a fine book to have your photos in it.

    Like

    1. That was the intent of the post title. Seems those pictures are also ‘French’ to you too as much as the words are to me. I’ve always had a tendency to attempt D.I.Y. fixes and most times they turn out OK. Of course, things aren’t always smooth sailing. Just two months ago, I attempted to fix the focus ring of my Canon EF100-400 L lens, went as far as removing the screws that secured the ring only to discover something that I was completely unprepared for. Hundreds maybe thousands of micro ball bearing fell out of the focus ring assembly which basically brought my attempt to an abrupt end. I returned it to our Canon distributor to have it flown to Canon Service Centre in Singapore.

      Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

