Brunei Darussalam

YOUTH CHALLENGE 2010 “EXPEDISI BERKAYAK MENYUSUR PANTAI”

[tweetmeme]

It was a very wet morning and I was rushing some post processing work for a bank when I received a last minute heads-up from Meo Wee that teams consisting of 34 kayakers for the “Expedisi Berkayak Menyusur Pantai” or “Kayaking Expedition Along the Shoreline” translated as part of the joint programme by the Youth and Sports Department and CARE (Challenge, Adventure, Recreation, and Education) Association. I caught them on their first leg of the journey when they stopped at the Billionth Barrel Monument. In spite of the downpour spirits were high and they were welcomed by Hj Mohammad Hj Jaya and fellow members of the Brunei Shell Recreation Club (BSRC) Photography Association.

The rain stopped when I arrived and flash of lightning were plenty evident in the horizon. I caught this one particular scene at f/3.5 aperture and 1/2500 shutter speed—my personal highlight of the day! So there I was along with two others who had joined me squatting with a sense of purpose. Their next stop → Overnight Camping at Lumut Beach

youth-kayak-002
A flash of lightning caught in this frame appearing as an f/3.5 bokeh
youth-kayak-010
The Brunei flag a symbol of harmony, peace and prosperity guided by our caring monarch, His Majesty the Sultan.

youth-kayak-001

youth-kayak-009

youth-kayak-011
Poor teddy. I cannot tell if it turned green from sea sickness or that its belly is squeezed a tad too tight 😀
youth-kayak-004
Letting gravity takes its course: the kayaks are lifted vertically to drain water that has collected along the way.
youth-kayak-005
Not an item norally associated with kayaking but I cannot help noticing the nice Nike straw hat. I think he's better off with my ESPRIT "68" baseball cap which is more secure 🙂

youth-kayak-016

youth-kayak-014
Other than water in the kayak, excess water is also squeezed out from moisture absorbing article on board.

youth-kayak-012
Hiya 🙂

youth-kayak-015

youth-kayak-017
The brief before heading out to sea. I wish them all the best in a successful journey! The country is proud to have courageous and inspiring youths that others can aspire to.

youth-kayak-018

youth-kayak-019

youth-kayak-020

youth-kayak-022

youth-kayak-023
Not nearly as thigh deep I took this picture in knee deep waters with my 5DII and 70-200mm.

youth-kayak-024
The structure in the distance is one that you see when you're at the Billionth Barrel Monument.

7 thoughts on “YOUTH CHALLENGE 2010 “EXPEDISI BERKAYAK MENYUSUR PANTAI”

  1. The structure you see in that last photograph is Seria Well Jacket 20 (SEWJ-20) from where the Seria well number S-692 was drilled from. Brilliant shot!

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

