Brunei Darussalam

ENELOOP THE NEW ENERGIZER BUNNY

At least for me anyway. I don’t know if you would consider Walkie Talkies low or high drain devices but the pair of UNIDEN radios I have,would knock out a set of freshly charged GP 1,000 mAh in no time. Fearing that it may be due to poorer quality of the GP cells, I tried Sony 1,000 mAh ones too and they too didn’t last. It gets expensive very quickly when you buy not 4 but 8 pieces with each wrong decision made. I use the radios with my associate at shoots where the venue is considerably large and where I think things would get hairy without the ability to cross-communicate effectively. I had used them at  the A100 Leadership Forum in Hanoi where communication with my associate  was critical to our coordination and the reliability issues I had with the GP and Sony batteries were a constant worry—my associate covered the arrival of the Prime Minister while I waited in the VIP holding room. I switched to Eneloops last year but only at the recent NBT Toyota Dinner & Dance shoot was I able to adequately test them. After 5 hours of on and off use, I’m happy to report that the battery level indicator showed full instead of low. You can imagine how happy I was to have finally found a solution. (this post was inspired by Energy Day 2010).

Uniden Walkie Talkie powered by 4 x AAA Eneloops
Canon CP-E3 Battery Pack with 8 AA Eneloop rechargeables

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

