Brunei Darussalam

BUBBA GUMP RUN FORREST RUN


[tweetmeme]

Continuing from my recent Asean Basketball League post, here are more photos from my  trip to Makati City in the Philippines. Brunei Barracudas team owner Zaty treated us to dinner at the very cool Bubba Gump Shrimp Co seafood restaurant that’s themed after the movie Forrest Gump.  The first Bubba Gump outlet was opened in 1996 on Cannery Row in Montery, California and have opened outlets outside of the USA in Japan, Bali, Hong Kong and Malaysia including Quezon City also in the Philippines. Another well known One Bite & You’re Hooked seafood franchise Fish & Co is just round the corner.

Not to be fooled by appearances. The second you walk through the door you're greeted not only with a smile and a friendly reception but upon entering the first time, you'll be in awe just how elaborately detailed and incredibly spacious the establishment is.
Nothing zero about Bubba Gump Shrimp Co seafood restaurant
The ping-pong bat/paddle inside each pail is their drinks menu. How incredibly cool is that idea?
This is what I'm talkin about—the attention to details and incredibly spacious interior with equally intriguing outside seating

Team Barracudas hosting dinner with media representatives from Brunei

Bartender who has visited Brunei and enjoyed his memorable stay at The Empire Hotel & Country Club. In restrospect, I enjoyed the food and my stay at The Renaissance Hotel, a short walking distance from Greenbelt 3 where Bubba Gump is located.
bubba-gump-14A
Barracudas team Owner Zaty and Manager Norizah in a pre-dinner discussing "running" strategies with Bruneian players Benjamin and Xavier.


15 thoughts on “BUBBA GUMP RUN FORREST RUN

    1. There is a ping-pong scene in Forrest Gump where he said …

      “When I was in China on the All-American Ping Pong team, I just loved playing ping-pong with my Flexolite ping pong paddle.”

      Like

      1. Superb images. The WB and ambiance is spot on. It’s very hard to shoot in Makati. The security guards will stop you as soon as you pull out an intimidating dslr. I’m glad you didn’t experience this. I hope you have more images to upload =)

        Like

        1. For a split second there I thought you meant it’s hard to get good “WB” in Makati City haha! But you’re absolutely right, the prominence of guards at every corner of the hotel and shopping centres made things somewhat uninviting to shoot more than I did. For that reason I held back taking pictures in areas that are more public. Plus the journey from Brunei to Makati had been rather exhausting and dehydrated I wasn’t in that frame of mind to continue shooting when it was time to chill. In retrospect, I might have been more productive if I had some a caffeine boost to last a few more hours!

          Just in case you missed this one earlier, here’s a link to the nightscape of Makati City from the 24th floor of The Renaissance Hotel’s VIP Lounge

          Like

          1. Actually, I saw the night scape already. It’s a very rarely seen view in photos. Next time when your in town, I will treat you to some caffeine so that I may gain some new insight from someone who understands composition very well. Cheers!

            Like

    1. Warm lighting does great justice to a venue like Bubba Gump but there is never a time when the same colour temperature works on food. I rather the pictures warm you up to imagine all possibilities to satisfy ones gastronomic experience.

      Like

  1. Excellent photos, and the place looks really cool too.

    I just took up photography as a hobby and I really like it. I still have a lot to learn, but I think I’m starting to get the hang of it… Knowing what shutter speed, aperture and ISO settings to use is kinda tricky.

    Like

    1. Thanks Juan.

      Photography is a rewarding hobby and the camera makes a great investment in more ways than the mind can imagine. I can only hope my work confirms this and inspires more people young and not-so-young to take up photography—it’s good to keep the mind positively preoccupied this way.

      The combination of Shutter Speed + Aperture + ISO is also called the Exposure Triangle. A change in one affects the other and changes the outcome of the picture much like Acceleration Triangle in a motor vehicle: Transmission + Throttle (gas pedal) + Steering ← I made this up! 🙂

      Like

      1. Thank you Jan.

        You have impressive skills and I’ll be visiting your blog more often for sure.

        If you don’t mind me asking, I noticed that in some of your photos the edge looks a bit darker. To get that effect, did you use a filter or photoshopped the image?

        Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

