Brunei Darussalam

POLLO ALLA CACCIATORE

Tonight at Fratini Seria, my wife and I had a deliciously satisfying serving of a dish called Pollo Alla Cacciatore that’s created by their new Executive Chef, Domenico Piras. The word cacciatore means “hunter,” and alla cacciatora means “hunter style.”  The ingredients are essentially items which an Italian hunter might come across in the woods such as onions, tomatoes, mushrooms etc and of course—chicken. But before that, an entree of their mushroom bruschetta (the tomatoes bruschetta remains my favourite) …

Fratini Mushroom BruschettaFratini Mushroom Bruschetta

Fratini Mushroom BruschettaFratini Mushroom Bruschetta

As captioned, the full name of this dish is Pollo Alla Cacciatore E Riso Alla Parmigiano but I’m told that instead of calling it Hunter Style Chicken with Risotto (Italian dish of rice) simply “Chicken Risotto” would suffice. As this dish is very new, you won’t find it listed on their regular menu. What I remember distinctly about it is how great the cheese and butter Risotto tasted along with their home made concoction of balsamic vinegar and secret recipe.

Pollo Alla Cacciatore E Riso Alla ParmigianoPollo Alla Cacciatore E Riso Alla Parmigiano

Photographically speaking, these set of pictures were shot on the EOS 5D MkII, EF24-70mm at ISO 1600 with colour correction (no noise filter applied). No flash was used and images shot entirely on available light (restaurant’s downlight). The absence of noise is simply brilliant—delicious Italian cuisine matched by delicious high ISO performance!

Pollo Alla Cacciatore E Riso Alla ParmigianoPollo Alla Cacciatore E Riso Alla Parmigiano

ITALIAN CUISINE IN SERIA

FRATINI SERIA CLOSER TO HOME

FRATINI SALAD. A FACE TO THE NAME.

SUNDAY KB DRIVE-BY AND FRATINI DINE-IN

18 thoughts on “POLLO ALLA CACCIATORE

  1. Thanks for sharing the tantilising food and photographic tips. As I am such a `point & shoot’ on auto most of the time, this insight is really precious.

    Bon Appetit!

    Like

    1. It’s important to be able to visualise the results when photographing food. It helps to have large aperture lenses to give you the extra creative latitude to produce “yummy” pictures. Very minimal editing involved here. It’s also important to get things right from the beginning. I think I am better with food than making people look good 🙂

      Like

  2. The foods really look yummy. The pizza that we had in SSS military school taste better…… (So have you make up your mind to have have Gold or red cap Nescafe?)

    Like

    1. Hey Jodie,

      Tossed between Gold and Red, today (yes today) I went for the Green 3-in-1 RICH flavoured premix just to see what it’s like. I used to think Gold was what I liked until I tasted the Red 3-in-1 during class and first impression was “Wow, this is really good” I still have a near-full can of the Hi Iron cream crackers with me. I’ve come to appreciate a lot more than diverse taste in coffee (although I kept telling myself I should drink less coffee and more green tea) but also the friendships with whom I have forged in the 6 weeks.

      How about we meet for coffee at Soi Hing and I bring the crackers for old times? Haha! Since I know them rather well, I think they’ll allow it too! 🙂

      Like

      1. Good idea Jan, Coffee + Hi iron crackers + panggang = perfect. Craving for panggang now….. Maybe should arrange gathering in Soi Hing for KB/Seria classmate.

        Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

