Brunei Darussalam

HSBC CELEBRATES YEAR OF THE OX 2009

Congratulations to CL who went home with a brand new Nokia mobile phone. Courtesy of HSBC, no bull! I thought I wasn’t going to make it to the event considering my wife and I got caught in Sungai Liang  jam where only recently friends had been stuck there for two hours. But we made it eventually and so did many other HSBC clients from the Belait district. An auspicious evening to the lucky winners big and small. It had been a slight struggle whether I was going to bring my 5DII to the event and knowing very well that if I hadn’t, those few hours sitting at the table would have certainly been  agonizing—really—this rooster cannot sit still besides an opportunity to see how well the 5DII handled the mixed lighting. All images captured with the EF 70-200mm f/2.8 between ISO 3200 and 5000 in ambient lighting.

Someone at the dinner said you could tell right away from looking at the silhouette that it’s Tareq. I should also mention that this someone is a HSBC employee so I guess that explains it but I agree. The CEO does have an identifiable silhouette.

Check out 2008’s HSBC Spring Dinner

16 thoughts on “HSBC CELEBRATES YEAR OF THE OX 2009

  1. oh, i think you have something for the legs.. haha

    Oh, I think you’re wrong! I have something for legs AND shoes or more specifically, heels. I’ve done it so much now it’s become quite a signature thing to do now. Anyone else doing the same would likely fall into the category of being unoriginal. Haha.

    Like

  2. It’s still sitting in the box btw 😛 …. any buyers? hahaha… A good start to the Ox Year for me, must be my year! :p

    Call it superstition if you will, there’s a belief that if you got rid of an item that you’d won in a lucky draw, you also gave away the luck since the item is more than just symbolic of your auspiciousness. I personally know two ladies who each won a car at a lucky draw, one told me she’s keeping it for this reason. The other one I didn’t have a chance to ask—she was overly ecstatic to chit chat!

    Like

  3. CL had no intentions to get rid of it ~ merely stating that it’s still sitting in a box and jokingly asked if there were any takers haha! And after what you’ve said … I”M NOT GETTING RID OF IT!! *lol* but if it were a car… I’d have to think twice about that! 😛

    Like

  4. JS winks 😉

    I wouldn’t know how I’d react had I won a car. I won a fairly large Samsung fridge—I kept it and it’s now keeping my stuff chilled every second of the day and night. Don’t get any ideas about comparing whose present is more COOL! 🙂

    Like

  5. I particuarly like the first 2 photos and always wanted to know how can I take a photo like that while the focus is on aside. Should I use MF instead?

    Like

  6. sarajane228

    What you’re referring to is off-centre focus point. As you mentioned MF I assume you’re shooting with a DSLR. There are two ways to accomplish the shot.

    [1] Focus and Recompose: Point the centre focus point to the subject, half-press to lock focus, recompose the scene and take the shot. Depending on how you do this, there’s a chance your main subject may appear slightly soft with this method. I prefer the second method

    [2] Select a peripheral focus point: Digital SLRs today have automatic and user selectable focus points. My Canon bodies have 9 focus points: one centre and 8 around it. I used the right point for framing.

    The second picture (the onion shaped domes) is a different story. The centre AF point was used and focused on the tip of the left dome. However due to the backlight and non contrasty domes acquiring focus lock wasn’t easy. I achieved focus lock on the side of the dome instead and then manual focus achieve the sharpness I wanted. Like most (not all) Canon L lenses, the EF 70-200mm f/2.8 is Full Time Manual so this mean while the lens has achieved an Auto Focus lock, you can turn the focus ring to change focus plane (manual override). Hope this helps.

    Like

  7. Jan, Thanks so much for your guidance! I will try to see if I am able to do it.

    EF 70-200mm f/2.8 is a very nice lens but that’s a little bit expensive for me but I really wish I can have one 🙂

    Like

  8. You’re most welcome. Canon has a 70-200mm f/4 that is lighter, smaller, image stabilized, a pro quality lens and most importantly and the clear favourite part for most, a lot cheaper than the f/2.8 sibling (but at the cost of twice the light loss of an f/2.8 lens). Get some loose some!

    But hey, you know what they say, “Be careful what you wish for. You might just get it” .. ain’t a bad thing in this case 🙂

    Like

  9. haha…you guys are bad…..my friend also instigated me to buy 小小白 (not sure if you can read chinese, EF 70-200mm f/4L) when I told him that I am thinking to get EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6.

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

