Brunei Darussalam

POWER TO THE PEOPLE

ht-towers

To say the weather has been gray these recent weeks would be quite an understatement. In spite of uninspiring circumstances, a photo recently shot by Gavin (drop a comment to say Hi if you know him) uplifted my spirits and actually got me out of the house to attempt this today (in the rain).

Gavin was originally referred to as “G” when he took ownership of my EOS 5D as he’s new to the world of photography and wanted to stay below the radar.ย  The inevitable has happened and forces beyond his control has pushed him forward quicker than quicksand. Today he’s registered his first blog. Uh-oh, I sense trouble! Be gentle, he’s a newbie as they say!ย ๐Ÿ™‚

12 thoughts on “POWER TO THE PEOPLE

  1. Creativity rules… its only power lines but u still managed to captivate attention.

    U sure Mr. G is newbie? Hahaha, yes I think he is but I can pick up a few tips and tricks from him in no time.

    Like

  2. Wow, playground underneath power lines? That has got to be the most insane idea I’ve heard in a while. But it wouldn’t be the first time government put its population at risksโ€”years ago, I watched a TV documentary that unearthed abnormalities involved with families in the USA who lived near high tension towers. If cancer doesn’t kill you, lightning sure willโ€”well, maybe !

    The rain (drizzle to large drops) probably forced me to be rush the shoot rather indulge in my usual mode which gave me opportunity to look for other vantage points.

    Like

  3. Thats an amazing shot of something as mundane as power lines.

    I got one of your Pygmy Squirrel cards from a friend can’t stop looking at that cute little bugger. Great photos!

    Like

  4. U sure Mr. G is newbie? Hahaha, yes I think he is but I can pick up a few tips and tricks from him in no time.

    Well, we’ve had eyes since birth (no disrespect to the visually impaired) and we know that no two pairs of eyes see things the same way. I also know we can be re-trained to see things differently much like management gurus whose main objectives are changing the way you see and think. I think and I hope I’m not wrong when I say I’m positive about Gavin’s vision to see things differently. He’s struggling somewhat to get a hang of DSLR photography having found himself on a steep learning curve.

    I’m in my fifth year now and even with countless real world challenges under my belt, still shit happens even to the best of us. There’s still so much more to learn in this profession and to deliver not what the client expects but beyond what is expected of us.

    Like

  5. Amanda

    Thats an amazing shot of something as mundane as power lines. I got one of your Pygmy Squirrel cards from a friend canโ€™t stop looking at that cute little bugger. Great photos!

    I followed the link to your blog and noticed you’re in Indonesia. I am curiousโ€”how did you get hold the Penan Charity card? I’ve been told that the cards were very popular and most times the cards/pictures in the possession of expats travel to more wonderful places than I could have had a chance to visit personally. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Hi Jan,
    An old friend at Microsoft Brunei sent it to me. Your card actually traveled to Brisbane, and then my mother took it to Ipoh to pass to me, and THEN I brought it here to Palembang with me. Its now sitting on my desk. Quite a carbon footprint on it! Ha! Ha!

    Thanks for the insightful comment you left me. What LKY has to say is really so true.

    Like

  7. An “old friend” who happens to be quite young I think and goes by the initials CWK ๐Ÿ™‚ But really, Microsoft and Ipoh gave it away. But that’s quite a footprint indeed.

    I once had this interesting but crazy idea of asking my readers (local, regional and international) to send me a postcard so I could fill an entire studio wall with them. Over time, that Wall would in all likelihood be more interesting than my Facebook Wall ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

