Brunei Darussalam

UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL WITH THE ORIENTAL PIED HORNBILL

Yesterday, Nicholas Leong wrote, “I demand hornbills tomorrow!” Well, here you go! πŸ™‚

This opportunity isn’t an isolated one. Hornbills are a regular feature and I had in the past avoided taking and posting pictures of them against man-made objects. You might have noticed of late that I have in fact been posting some such as post box, air conditioner and wooden house. Today, a pair transited on my balcony (briefly checked out the laundry room) and I managed to grab the camera for some really close head shots (not cropped). Normally, they are very sensitive to presence of humans and I was fairly sure they saw me and even if they didn’t, the loud shutter noise of the 20D would have certainly given me away.

https://shimworld.files.wordpress.com/2008/11/hornbill-nov2008-01.jpg

https://shimworld.files.wordpress.com/2008/11/hornbill-nov2008-03.jpg

I thought the following two flying away perspectives are really nice. They remind me of the pictures I see a lot in publications and video footages of soaring eagles and because the hornbills like to swoop down from TV antenna, high tension cables or even telephone pole, I caught these in time. I’ve included a larger version of the image so you can enjoy the view from a cinematic “aerial chase” vantage point.

https://shimworld.files.wordpress.com/2008/11/hornbill-nov2008-04.jpg→ click on image to view larger version

https://shimworld.files.wordpress.com/2008/11/hornbill-nov2008-05.jpg→ click on image to view larger version

6 thoughts on “UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL WITH THE ORIENTAL PIED HORNBILL

  1. ζ‹ηš„ι‚£δΉˆε₯½οΌŒε―δ»₯ζ‹Ώζ₯εšζ–°ηš„EASIε‘οΌˆι’„δ»˜εŠ ε€Όε‘οΌ‰θƒŒζ™―δΊ†γ€‚

    Like

  2. Hi Jan,
    Agree with Jewelle. These birds were so happy when I finally left Brunei, but now they still don’t have a private life coz you keep on chasing them around the place :p

    cheers
    Mark

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

