Brunei Darussalam

INCREDIBLE DRIVING SKILL! KEN BLOCK GYMKHANA PRACTICE

As much as I hate to admit it, I think my not-so-distant-past has caught up with me. The inevitable has happened sooner or later but it might as well be now than never! It’s been six years now since I sorta gave up  my love for motorsports having organised just one race in Brunei before the sports was deemed unsafe to continue. Motorsports is no more unsafe compared to accidents (and deaths) on the golf course, even in badminton courts (players collapsing of cardiac arrest). As an entrepreneur, I think the ban on organised races has single handedly been unsafe on the economy and I suspect authorities who aren’t policing the sports fail to see the amount of money, staggering numbers, spent on aftermarket parts whether legally or otherwise. Oh well, enough with the rants, let’s see the good stuff …. (oh and credit to magazine pro Mark Pakula for the jump-start).

Pronounced jim-kah-nuh, GYMKHANA is an automotive sport that takes place on an open field or parking lot and requires drivers to skillfully maneuver their cars around a series of cones, slaloms, 180 degree turns, 360 degree turns, figure eight turns or other obstacles using extreme acceleration, braking and drifting. Similar to “autocross”, Gymkhana courses are often very complex and memorizing the course is a significant part of achieving a fast time.

Ken wanted to take this concept further and on a larger scale for his practice and testing, and this is the result …

Well, I’ve left my footprints on the USA’s largest Subaru Club, NASIOC, back when I was wholesaling turbochargers to the Subaru community across the States and some parts of Asia. 1080 turbos sold between 2002 and 2006 and I received a limited edition ZeroSports Subaru STi poster from my business partner to commemorate the good times though I passed on two all-paid-for incentive trips to visit the Mercedes and Garrett factory!

This is probably the best time to include pictures of my Tommi Makinen edition Subaru WRC miniature. Maybe someday I’ll have a chance get up close and personal in one of these WRC races.

subaru-modelcar-1subaru-modelcar-2© Jan Shim Photography

UPDATE: Some of you who’s seen the video has instead taken an interest in the Segway! Surprisingly or unsurprisingly, not many countries have them. Whatever the reasons, a couple of units were actually brought in by the Asia Pacific distributor for a public demo and being involved in the logistics at the time (July 2004) I took one for a spin at the Empire Hotel. No tyre burning business and no slouch either going uphill towards the main lobby. In the absence of a motorsports track, I’m imagining a theme park where Segways rule! What do you think? I sure have some expensive imagination which is also completely impractical for use here when all I really want is someone to carry my Lowepro bags!

segway-janshim© Jan Shim Photography

7 thoughts on “INCREDIBLE DRIVING SKILL! KEN BLOCK GYMKHANA PRACTICE

  1. They were never approved to begin with so there’s nothing to ban. As a means of transport they’re not practical. As a gadget they’re costly to own but who knows, the state of world economy and roller coast ride of fuel prices might be sales opportunity for some.

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

