Brunei Darussalam

EGRETS IN THE SERIA OIL TOWN

Oct 28, 2008 UPDATE: PASSWORD SCAM ALERT: ATTENTION “BRUNET” USERS. PLEASE READ!

I’ve had days when I absolutely regretted leaving the camera at home. Luckily today isn’t one of them thanks to a few hours of sun that lit the morning. I had previously shot this scene but was not entirely happy with the light and composition so today I gave it another try and thought it looked absolutely gorgeous in a toned and structured B/W.

As I write this post, certain areas of Seria is seeing pockets of heavy rainfalls while other areas remain dry and a source says it’s dry and sunny in the Brunei capital. I had a number of lenses with me today but none except the EF100-400mm proves useful 9 times out of 10 trips. Driving around the Panaga area looking for areas with a fair concentration of egrets and reasonably good landscape I got these at 3 to 5 locations (I’ve lost count).

Other than hornbills which seemed to have dominated most of my bird photography portfolio, the egrets and pigeons are likely the common birds I shoot unless I have better equipment and develop a sense of adventure! I would love to own a Canon 600mm f/4L lens to be inspiredβ€”but quickly perspires at its cost!

My egret pictures have been featured in a number of publication including an earlier batch of EASI Prepaid phone cards.

β†’ Some of these images were picked for the PENAN CHARITY CARD sponsorship recently and I’m delighted to have sold a number of 8×12 prints (Hornbills and Egrets) thanks to the network of people who support the cause.

6 thoughts on “EGRETS IN THE SERIA OIL TOWN

  1. Nicholas Leong

    Thanks! You have some amazing peacock pictures there and you must have a fascination with animals seeing how your watermarks use Disney font πŸ™‚

    kantalensa

    The 28-300mm is a heavy lens, much heavier than the 100-400mm, and it is a real challenge to hand-hold for long periods. I’ve found monopods to get in the way of unpredictable bird shoots. Though I’ve never owned one I have used it and didn’t like the way it would hunt quite a bit because of slow AF performance. I don’t know if this would make shooting birds-in-flight much harder but do post a link after you’ve tried it. I only wish they make a f/2.8 version of 100-400mm that I can actually use in low light (I like its fast AF though not as fast as the 70-200 f/2.8 but fast nonetheless!)

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

