Brunei Darussalam

STATISTICALLY SPEAKING

In case you haven’t noticed, we live in a world that is obsessed with statistics. STATISTICS is (and not ‘are’ while being plural, it’s treated as singular) “is the practice or science of collecting and analysis numerical data in large quantities, especially for the purpose of inferring proportions in a whole from those in a representative sample.” [according to a definition from the Concise Oxford Dictionary]. For a short word, it sure is more than a mouthful in meaning. Why do we do it? In business it’s for accountability that our actions or decisions are required to justify!


© WordPress Stats | May 19 2008

The good folks at WORDPRESS who host SHIMWORLD runs a math engine called GOOGLE Analytics and churns out numbers from the massive amount of internet traffic it monitors. Information such as Referrers, Top Posts, Search Engine Terms, Clicks and Incoming Links are important and relevant statistics that I take seriously in order to be accountable for my time spent on the entire workflow from photography to post processing to writing, research and posting my articles. For instance, right this minute, I can tell you that SHIMWORLD has 198,136 total views to date with Nov 14 2007 recording the highest views of 2,087, it’s also received 2,263 comments from readers and I’ve so far made 222 posts. Phew!

On top of comments from readers that I enjoy reading, WordPress stats provide a lot of useful information  that tells me if a particular post is effectively communicating to the readers the way it was intended. For instance, the article A RESORT IN THE MIST. BEYOND THE POSTCARD. was a a tourism piece and naturally was aimed at anyone who wants to know more about our rainforest that’s so well hidden not only from the rest of the world but also from folks in our own country. So today, my blog stats tells me that a reader had used Google to translate the whole post in French so naturally it puzzled me how some of the local words might have been changed. Click here to read the translated article. The reader may even be a friend of the French photographer I met on the trip who lived right next door!

Since April 27, 2008 the day the Ulu Ulu Resort post was published, 768 page views have been generated (WordPress does not record own clicks). Loosely speaking that’s 768 additional traffic who didn’t know about the Temburong resort previously. Newspaper adverts simply do not have this reach compared to the effectiveness of a blog.


© WordPress Stats | May 20, 2008

As a photographer, the very nature of the business attracts much attention. As web-savvy communities go online, the distinction between forums that discuss all things photography are in abundance and in a number of languages. A recent referrer that was tracked belongs to forum called Pantip.com that has a link to my Canon Speedlite 580EX-II article.


© Pantip.com

Stats has shown me that there are many searches for help on technigical problems. I should know as I have been one of them on many occasions where my equipment began showing anomaly. The first thing I would do is consult the web for possible solutions. From time to time, I give something back to the community for the countless times that information on the web had been used positively and productively. We can literally be home-schooled and have still train the kids to respect their teacher. “GOOD MORNING, MS GOOGLE!” Just a mouse and a nice large chalk-free LCD.

The Speedlite 580EX-II Fix article has appeared in Fred Miranda more than once, DPreview.com  and another popular topic involving the 20D’s problems with the battery grip has been discussed in Dchome.net (Chinese) and a number of other forums that I won’t mention.

Sometimes, when you hit the right note, things can get a little OH-MY-GOD! shocking. But perhaps I shouldn’t at all be surprised as far as showbiz is concerned. The single most popular blog post of all times is Wu Chun. Not a day goes by that the search engine doesn’t pick up some fan searching his name. If only I had a $1.00 with for click and it would have justified my time here VERY NICELY!


© WordPress Stats @ May 19, 2008  [click on graph to view post]

On a lighter side of things, a self-professed Wu Chun fan in the Philippines recently posted a comment that tops the list.

hi wu chun,i’m one of ur hottest fan,i always admire what u have doing….hope u’ll always do good job in future!!!!!!!! i always support u,as ur “NUMBER ONE FAN”…..my heart goes crazy,it goes bump-de-bump-bump!my doctor told me this has got to stop.he never heard a beat like hippety,hippety hop…when i heard a good news from my idol(WU CHUN)…keep up the good work!!!!! and don’t forget to PRAY always…WO AI NIE WU CHUN!!!!!!!!! don’t forget to visit CEBU, PHILIPPINES……
On a more serious note, I’m extremely happy that the HONG KONG SCAM ALERT! article has been instrumental in saving many from being phone scammed. The post has been linked in numerous sites including peer to peer email transmittals and the latest link that showed up in my stats this morning came from New Zealand Honda Club forum (warning: adult language)

7 thoughts on “STATISTICALLY SPEAKING

  1. Jan, I think it’s nice to be able to share photos (mine photos are very simple,) and these are taken with the new lens you suggested (I still need to learn all the features), I absolutely love it, I think the world looks a lot nicer through camera lens. The photos of your trip look great, time might be short, but the memory stays with us, and there are always the photos to look at, and share.

    Like

  2. HI Jan,

    Well, looks like I will have to take my word back…this WU CHUN fever is really crazy…I mean, I take it back that most Pinays aren’t half as crazy as most Asian fans are…but now, I guess my fellow Pinays proved me wrong! Huh! Thanks to them…hahaha. Anyway, looks like your fellow Bruneian is really a “hottie”, the company that manages him is sure to make big bucks on him…sorry… if your post about wu chun takes the reader off to your work and on what you had to say…and that most fans mistake your blog as one of Chun’s.

    Mai Mai

    Like

  3. Jan, I think it’s nice to be able to share photos (mine photos are very simple,) and these are taken with the new lens you suggested. (I still need to learn all the features), I absolutely love it, I think the world looks a lot nicer through camera lens.

    The great thing about SLR photography is control, control and control. I’m sure you’ve seen this yourself, the Depth-Of-Field from an SLR is simply unmatched against digital compacts which is one of the many reasons we bother to put up with its sheer size and weight. Just look at how your strawberries ppictures jump out at you because of the shallow DOF!

    The photos of your trip look great, time might be short, but the memory stays with us, and there are always the photos to look at, and share.

    You’re absolutely right. Unfortunately there [is] one problem. My archives have grown fairly huge and it’s a pain managing them now. I can easily lose track of what I backed up and what needs to be backed up and so forth. It appears that I am in need of a good cataloguing system no matter how simple it may be, I need one but it isn’t something I should burden you with. You’re in what is known as honeymoon phase so you should enjoy till such a time reality kicks in.

    Like

  4. Jan, I think it’s nice to be able to share photos (mine photos are very simple,) and these are taken with the new lens you suggested. (I still need to learn all the features), I absolutely love it, I think the world looks a lot nicer through camera lens.

    The great thing about SLR photography is control, control and control. I’m sure you’ve seen this yourself, the Depth-Of-Field from an SLR is simply unmatched against digital compacts which is one of the many reasons we bother to put up with its sheer size and weight. Just look at how your strawberries ppictures jump out at you because of the shallow DOF!

    The photos of your trip look great, time might be short, but the memory stays with us, and there are always the photos to look at, and share.

    You’re absolutely right. Unfortunately there [is] one problem. My archives have grown fairly huge and it’s a pain managing them now. I can easily lose track of what I backed up and what needs to be backed up and so forth. It appears that I am in need of a good cataloguing system no matter how simple it may be, I need one but it isn’t something I should burden you with. You’re in what is known as honeymoon phase so you should enjoy till such a time reality kicks in.

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

