Brunei Darussalam

WELL HEELED

Where my wife is going for the weekend, she won’t be needing these! At least no woman in her right mind that I know has attempted to scale Mount KK in a pair of heels or stilettos! In the next 24 hour or so, she’s going to attempt to reach the the peak together with her determined peers, I have a mission of my own while not nearly as breathtaking and scenic as the climb brings, the visual appeal from a pair of these can take one’s breath away!

heels-1.jpg heels-4.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

High heels are perhaps the one thing men and women have a common and agreeable view—that quite simply they look great and define the legs in more ways than one can imagine. Heels may even be the single fashion accessory that define sexy when you also take into account that they (shoes) are a billion dollar industry so there’s much fuss to be made over something that goes under your feet. And a pair on the go make all the right noises too!

heels-2.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

Researching the ever glowing question, “why do men find high heels and pumps so sexy on women?” on Google came answers of sorts but this reply , “It’s the fact that they’re on a woman.” probably sums it up the best.

heels-3.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

If that’s not enough, check out this lady who dedicates her blog to showcasing her collection of high heels and the comments her pictures have attracted. Compelling, provocative, regardless, High Heels is so popular she’s received a pair of 5½ inch stiletto high heels from a fan. Very interesting past time!

Related link

17 thoughts on “WELL HEELED

  1. Well, the heels debate again ain’t it. Tonnes of such discussions in my varsity class whenever feminist theories/discussions are brought up

    Let’s not even go there! 🙂

    Good luck to your wife. I hope you let her take a camera along to get some good pictures.

    She has the Canon IXUS with her and her sister who’s also on the same expedition has an identical camera. Depending on the how low the temperatures get, there’s a chance the digital compacts may lock up. I hope someone in the group has at least a working camera for the must-have group photo at the peak!

    Like

  2. I got an IXUS 850 IS, used in Korea in -9 to -11 `C weather and it performed really-really well. 🙂

    All I can say is that the Canon badge really means something. 😀

    Like

  3. Ours is an IXUS 700. I’ve tested and bought the 850 IS for a family member. At the time there was no face detection but large LCD, Image Stablization and high ISO capability were great features!

    What would be really great is an ability to fire a Speedlite flash remotely and I’d have a few good reasons to leave my SLR at home.

    Like

  4. Ah a topic close to my sole 🙂 Heels are a much needed companion to those of us who are “vertically challenged”. It helps us look you taller people in the eye without neck strain. I’m notorious for my collection which help me see the world at a decent height every day.

    PS. The IXUS 850IS is sorely tempting for a point and shoot as it fits nicely into the smallest handbags but I can’t seem to tear myself away from my carry-around G7. Plus hubby says the G7 is top of the line still so why “downgrade”??

    Like

  5. Ah a topic close to my sole. Heels are a much needed companion to those of us who are “vertically challenged”. It helps us look you taller people in the eye without neck strain. I’m notorious for my collection which help me see the world at a decent height every day.

    I see your ‘point’. Pointy heels, that is (pardon the pun)! I guess you have to give up one thing to gain another, clearly, for your new vantage point several inches higher.

    Earlier this afternoon I received an email from a Carl B. with a link to an article from the Washington Post On Your Feet: High Heels’ Effects on the Body.

    Probably something you already know but highly informative for those who don’t know better. A condition called Morton’s Neuroma where “thickening of tissue around a nerve between the third and fourth toes, which can lead to pain and numbness in the toes.“. I once went through 3 months of toe numbness after just 2 days of heavy squatting and the lesson learnt, nice-looking leather shoes are simply not suited for photography!

    PS. The IXUS 850IS is sorely tempting for a point and shoot as it fits nicely into the smallest handbags but I can’t seem to tear myself away from my carry-around G7. Plus hubby says the G7 is top of the line still so why “downgrade”??

    Not knowing much about the G series or IXUS compacts for that matter, I Googled the specs and they look really good. As far as visual appeal goes, the IXUS series are a sexy bunch compared to the G’s but specs wise, the G7 has just about everything to produce great images. I would go that extra step and get a Canon ST-E2 remote transmitter to mount on the hot-shoe and get an external flash such as the top of the line Speedlite 580EX-II that you can fire off the ST-E2—gives you off-centred and directional lighting controls.

    Like

  6. Well there’s a way to fire a flash remotely using a point and shoot, specifically the G7 and G9 ones, it involves using a wireless flash trigger. 😀

    Like

  7. Well there’s a way to fire a flash remotely using a point and shoot, specifically the G7 and G9 ones, it involves using a wireless flash trigger.

    Yes Zul, as long there’s a hot shoe, there’s an ST-E2 remote transmitter that would work. I use one and swear by its ability to remotely control my Speedlite-based studio umbrellas while retaining E-TTL and FEC functionality.

    Like

  8. Nice shot on those heels!

    i would love to wear heels. But since i am tall enough, i would be towering most people if i wear a 3 inch heels.

    What’s more, i tend to run after buses and walk really fast… so heels are a no no for me. They probably will get my knees injured more than making look great!

    Oh, it is true that heels would cause the calf muscles to stiffen and that won’t look too good on your legs… However, if you must wear heels, do give your calf muscles a good massage after a long day…

    Like

  9. Oh, it is true that heels would cause the calf muscles to stiffen and that won’t look too good on your legs… However, if you must wear heels, do give your calf muscles a good massage after a long day…

    OSIM, OGAWA and the likes probably know more about this than anyone in the business and they make machines that massage just the place so you can indulge in hells heels longer. It’s also a safe bet that women were their biggest statistics when it came to sampling who needed relief on a daily basis. On the other end of the spectrum, professional athletes have professional help when it comes to pain management, something an OSIM iSqueeze isn’t likely to fix.

    Like

  10. Always nice to see ladies wearing heels, yet the pain they have to endure till the end of the day is simply unimaginable. Wonder who invented high heels…hmmm…anyway, nice photos of the shoes. Jan, I’ve been very interested in photography and try to understand something out from your works but to no avail. I shall devote more time in the coming months to learn and hopefully I can own a camera soon to start phototaking. : )

    Like

  11. Always nice to see ladies wearing heels, yet the pain they have to endure till the end of the day is simply unimaginable.

    Not just a day but everyday including some nights!

    Wonder who invented high heels…hmmm…

    Not who, it’s what—SOCIETY!

    Jan, I’ve been very interested in photography and try to understand something out from your works but to no avail. I shall devote more time in the coming months to learn and hopefully I can own a camera soon to start phototaking. : )

    The only way to learn photography is through trial and error. Without a camera there’s no trial and certainly no error—errors are opportunities to improve! Every situation presents its own set of challenges so the possibility of making mistakes is always there.

    Like

  12. Good luck to your wife. I hope you let her take a camera along to get some good pictures…

    Just for the record, at 9:48 PM earlier tonight (April 05 2008) I received a text from my wife, “I DID IT!”. So proud of her accomplishments. Years later when we look back at some of the comments and discover this by accident, it’ll be more meaningful then.

    Like

  13. This will be the experience Chris will not forget. Looking back, I am glad that I did it 10 years ago with my hubby while my 3 kids stayed at the base camp to send us off and receive us when we returned, a reverse role. At this age, I shudder to think of the feat with weakened knees and feeble bones, haha! congratulations, Chris ….

    Like

  14. Pingback: A Journey Lived

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

