Brunei Darussalam

END OF SCHOOL HOWLIDAYS

It’s a beautiful sunny Saturday morning and the first thing that came to mind—let’s hit the pool! Two more days before all the screaming come to and end (well, the kids don’t really scream or howl for that matter but every minute they’re not in school, they’re IN YOUR FACE!). Leaving the house, taking a slow drive on our newly paved roads, I caught sight of a pair of hornbills perched on the same tree—a rare opportunity though I managed to capture just the one from my vantage point (bottom pic). 

These days, I go out with the camera a lot more than I ever did previously. Over time I had beaten myself enough for missing many moments that I had convinced and numbed myself that lugging a 10ish kilo backpack is OK!

bsrc2008-5.jpg bsrc2008-61.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

So I took the EOS 5D and 70-200mm f2.8 IS into the pool of the Brunei Shell Recreation Club (BSRC) and shot a series of ISO 100 photos standing waist deep in splashing, turbulent water. Dropping the camera into the water would be not be cool. Even a weather sealed 1-series might not fare so well. I used to favour the 20D for non work shoots but I prefer the usability of full frame now even more so for fun as much as it is for work. Equally seasoned now is Jamie and his freestyle technique is so smooth after several years of swimming lessons. It’s great to see the kids pick up a skill and be very good at it.

bsrc2008-1.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

The kids NEVER have enough of the water and neither do I except that morning, an hour in that scorching sun was plenty to look several shades darker! They got to be free spirited and I got sharpen my skills in capturing kids on steroids! Win-Win just as long the camera stays above water!

bsrc2008-2.jpg bsrc2008-3.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

bsrc2008-4.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

Next day, The Empire Hotel & Country Club had their Sunday Splash and it was PACKED! There were activities going on at every level of the hotel—at the entrance, buses load of tourists poured and over at the Indera Kayangan Ballroom where I’ve spent several years shooting corporate events, there was a Persian/Eastern Carpet Auction where a member of the Royal Household is said to be an esteemed patron.

Meanwhile down at the PANTAI and to its left and right is a full on splashing fun. A variety of Sun creams was available at the entrance along with water related fun toys for the kids. One such toy that caught Jewel’s eye was the SPLASH BOMBS, a colourful and Rugby ball shaped sponge that soaks up enough water to hurt. I imagine “Do not aim or throw ball at someone’s head or face” isn’t something to be taken lightly!

empire2008-1.jpg empire2008-2.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

At the drinks counter, overlooking the SPLASH pond, workers in the restaurant drowned by the sizzling fun atmosphere of sights and sound from over indulged hotel guests prepared glasses to get ready for the evening diners.

empire2008-3.jpg empire2008-4.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

empire2008-5.jpg empire2008-6.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

Related links

17 thoughts on “END OF SCHOOL HOWLIDAYS

  1. At the risk of sounding very amateur (which I am actually…), I want to know how far were you when you shot that third picture – of your son’s swimming.

    Also, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Are we going to see the picture of your cake?

    Like

  2. great images there btw !!! hey. i have a D3 in my hands. wanna try? HAHAHHAA…

    The Nikon D3 is no laughing matter. I handled one just recently and took some sample images at ISO 6400. That’s about the only ‘feature’ that had me intrigued. Took some samples of an egg sandwich I ordered and I’ll say this—ISO 6400 is yummier than the sandwich—just mind blowingly good. As the photo was shot in day light, the noise grain improvements remain to be seen for low light shots or when the image is underexposed. Technology has come a long way.

    At the risk of sounding very amateur (which I am actually…), I want to know how far were you when you shot that third picture – of your son’s swimming.

    I’d say he’s at least 1.4m away as the 70-200mm lens would not focus less than this. Jamie’s probably 3m away when he began swimming towards me.

    Also, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Are we going to see the picture of your cake?

    Thanks! No pictures, cakes are best eaten 🙂

    Like

  3. Nice, absolutely love the swimming shots.

    The D3, like you said, is mind blowing, I cant wait to get my hands on one at the end of the year too.

    Maybe you should switch camps Jan.

    Like

  4. The D3, like you said, is mind blowing, I cant wait to get my hands on one at the end of the year too. Maybe you should switch camps Jan.

    Not likely. Nikon isn’t the only company that produces mind blowing ISO control. The EOS 5D successor is going to have ultra high ISO too and besides, I value after sales support 100% and Nikon is not official represented here. Every piece is gray backed by “we’ll try our best to get it fixed for you” warranty ranging from 3 months to one year depending on the store’s policy.

    I’m 100% Canon for a valid reason. Switching camps to be worse off is so no on! Besides I don’t quite understand why the D3 body is blistered with equally mind blowing number of knobs, buttons and more knobs and buttons looking. Freaks me out just looking at them. Even the Canon 1 series PRO bodies are much cleaner 🙂

    Like

  5. Hi Jan,
    seems like you have great weather in Brunei. I would like to jump in the water too. nooooooooooooo…..
    Would like to see more about streetlife and people in Brunei. Please do some shots about your City. Lots of greetings from Germany,
    Conny

    Like

  6. OK Glenn,
    there is nothing at your website. Lets see your photos with the D3. I guess they will be fantastic. For myself I would be pleased to afford a Canon 1Ds mark 2 soon.
    Greetings,
    Conny

    Like

  7. huh…whose Birthday? Happy 39th Birthday O’Man!

    Hard to believe huh that the person whom you met at the first Starbucks Rendezvous is allllllmost turning 40! 🙂

    seems like you have great weather in Brunei. I would like to jump in the water too. nooooooooooooo…..

    That should be me going “nooooooooooooo…” on one step closer to 40! 🙂 Weather in Brunei is GREAT all the time even when it isn’t, it still is great! The sun’s always screaming hot and that’s the best time to be in the pool—getting a large dose of Vitamin D the natural way—other may disagree!

    Would like to see more about streetlife and people in Brunei. Please do some shots about your City. Lots of greetings from Germany,

    I live in a small town called SERIA, a name so unique that when you Google it, there’s a Wikipedia entry you may want to read about. The town’s main economy is predominantly oil and gas as much as is the country’s income. Besides black gold, Seria is known for its delicious ‘street’ food, multi-cultural and large expat community.

    VERY DELICIOUS! VERY ASIAN!

    AN OIL TOWN LEGACY. SOI HENG COFFEE SHOP.

    You can find more images of Seria and a litte more of its surroundings here (click on pic to launch gallery) including a traditional annual event (Dumpling Festival) celebrated largely by the Chinese community but has over the years attracted many others just to hang out at the beach after work.

    Thank you for visiting!

    Like

  8. Happy 39th, Jan ! 😀

    And Conny, you might wanna check my site, too. I have some interesting photos of Brunei. 😀

    *self plug mode off*

    Heheh 😀

    Like

  9. Thanks Zul!

    Though the number goes up unavoidably, I can feel the age reversing effects from photography esp now that I’ve moved into commercial work where I’m at liberty to produce images I consider appropriate for the discerning client. 🙂

    Like

  10. Of course, you do have the freedom to do the work you would like to do 😀

    With that freedom, the older you are, it’s inevitable that your work becomes better 😀

    Like

  11. Of course, you do have the freedom to do the work you would like to do … With that freedom, the older you are, it’s inevitable that your work becomes better …

    I think you meant the longer you do this the inevitable happens. Age or aging on its own doesn’t equate productivity and the freedom to choose makes all the difference between productivity loss due to burn out.

    im a budding photographer, n ure one of my fav photographer, i have a question. do u often shoot the portraits with auto or manual focus?

    I’m honoured. Thanks!

    Focus whether auto or manual is a choice you make depending on a number of circumstances. If Auto fails to achieve your intended focus point then manual focus. Digital cameras are convenient but the technology is far from perfect and you either get a focus that’s spot on or falls slightly in front or behind.

    In the case of studio portraiture where there’s enough light, focus is never a problem. Apertures of f/11 to f/16 are commonly used so there’s enough depth-of-field to get the subject in focus entirely. Hope this helps.

    Like

  12. how do u get the focus right with manual focus?

    When I have to manual focus, it all comes down to visual confirmation. This presents a different kind of challenge. For instance, if you’re shooting with one of today’s cropped sensor, the viewfinder is typically quite small and dim. This requires seriously good eyesight to determine if the subject is accurately focused. I face this problem too so at times it’s a hit and miss even though I have reasonably good eye sight (this is with the EOS 20D)

    With my EOS 5D, being a full frame 1:1 sensor, by virtue of design, the viewfinder is larger and also much brighter. This helps manual focus when you’re able to see the subject much more clearer.

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

