Brunei Darussalam

CELEBRATE E DAY!

Update: As I finished reading The Nights I Spent in My Car, the article moved me in way I want to reach out and touch someone the same way Anya has in this Reader’s Digest (RD) article. Where RD left off, I took the liberty of contacting Anya through her blog post: Life Seams …

rd_feb_cover.jpgThe month of romance has passed and we’re now in end of the Q1—how quickly time flies and in no time, we’ll be calling 2008 yesterday and if Zodiac (PDF) is anything to go by, it’ll be a great one!!

Which brings me to this. For some reason, books and magazines hit the shelves a month late. But late as it may be, the Reader’s Digest [Asian Edition] February 2008 issue brings back plenty of memories with more than a handful of really useful and relevant ‘E Day’ articles . So much so I feel this desire to share with you.

On Matters of LOVE 7 Secrets to a Sexy Marriage | How to Pick A Perfect Partner | What Would You Do For Love?

WHEN YOU ADDRESS YOUR OWN FLAWS AND SEEK THE BEST IN YOUR SPOUSE, MAGIC HAPPENS

Out of 7 points, one stands out and I quote, “It’s tempting to blame your spouse when you feel angry, disappointed, bored, betrayed or stressed out about your marriage. Then it’s a short hop to seeing your mate as the one who must change for the marriage to improve. Trying to improve your spouse puts him or her on the defensive and casts you in a dreary role. The result? Nobody changes. Nobody takes responsibility. Everyone is unhappy. And making your spouse the bad guy means ignoring the 90 per cent of him or her that’s good. The true fixChange yourself. When you address your own flaws and seek the best in your spouse, magic happens. Optimism increases. Your spouse feels better because he or she feels appreciated, not chastised. And you both feel motivated to change in ways that lead to even more joy.” The article also talks about the Japanese philosophy of imperfection, wabi sabi (“wah-bee sah-bee”).

Besides love, two other articles The Common Disease Killing Our Children and Million Dollar Advice caught my eye.

When four year old Darryl Heng had a runny nose and fever one evening in March 1999, his father wasn’t too concerned. Kids get the sniffles before taking Darryl to the family doctor who was prescribed the usual flu medication. When his condition did not improve, Darrryl was given antibiotics but he broke out in rashes over the next few days due to an allergic reaction to the drugs. A blood test did not reveal anything unusual. When Darryl became breathless one evening, his father brought to the National University Hospital where X-rays showed he had pneumonia. Doctors explains his condition was further complicated by a collection of pus outside the lungs. Darryl spent 21 days in ICU and was hooked up to more than 13 drips. He needed morphine for the pain. Just 28 days after his first flu-like symptoms appeared, Darryl died of complications from pneumoccal disease.

It is every parent’s nightmare to lose a child. Ignorance is not bliss. Page 30 has more real life report of another child Becky Leong where timely surgery saved her life.

How to be a Millionnaire Most of us have one time or another been curious how millionnaires are made. I’ve only dreamt about ways to make my first million and the road to being enlightened has been an interesting one.

According to Page 46, “The Biggest $ecret? Stop spending. Every millionnaire we spoke to has one thing in common: Not a single one spend needlessly. Real estate investor Dave Lindahl dives a Ford Explorer and says his middle-class neighbourhoods would be shocked to learn how much he’s worth. Rick Sikorski can’t fathom why anyone would buy bottled water. Steve Maxwell, the finance teacher, looked at a $1.5 million home but decided to buy one that was half the price because “a house with double the cost would not give me double the enjoyment.”

No kidding! Talk show host Tyra Banks calls herself Queen of Cheap and keeps perfume samples from magazine ads in her purse for quick touch-ups. Sara Blakely, founder of the $100 million shapewear company Spanx, gets her hair trimmed at Supercuts. And Warren Buffet, the third richest person in the world, according to Forbes, lives in the same Omaha Nebraska, home he bought four decades ago for just $31,500.

Life is short and Valentine’s Day is just one day out of 356 days. Why not make the most of what we have and celebrate E Day—E for Everyday! SimpurBloggies PhotoBlog Winner AnakBrunei does 🙂

6 thoughts on “CELEBRATE E DAY!

  1. these are all great articles, was really interested about the health of our children, i see it not only important because they are the future but also because of the love and joy the bring to us, making them apart of the highest priority is truly unquestionable.

    Like

  2. Hey Vern, glad you could drop by!

    On Page 34, there’s an article The Nights I Spent in My Car that I found truly inspirational. The crazy months leading up to Chinese New Year have left me pretty jaded. A number of my highly accomplished pro buddies abroad have offered to let me shoot with them in the hope that the experience would provide the motivation to get back on my feet. Truth of the matter is, I’m not so sure. Until I came across this true story by a once homeless Anya Peters who’s published a book in May 2007 Abandoned: The True Story of a Little Girl Who Didn’t Belong.

    … my uncle resented me and, when I was older, sexually abused me. I got out, earned a law degree and started to build my own life. The scars were still there under the surface but I got good at hiding them. I was 33 and living in London when I met Craig. I was coming out of a five-year relationship with another man and Craig was the supportive friend I needed. He was 20 years older than me and at first was like a father. But our relationship became more intimate—then more controlling. He learned to use my past. He persuaded me that none of my family or friends loved me: only he did. It took two years to summon the courage to break away from Craig. Even though I moved flat twice he tracked me down. I began to unravel, suffered depression and lost my job as a legal assistant.

    In attempts to disguise her homelessness, Anya continually applied for jobs online mostly at libraries that offered free internet access. “Then one day I found a rolled up newspaper in the hospital canteen and started reading it. There was an article that mentioned “blogs” and I discovered they were public Internet diaries: anyone can write one and anyone can read them.

    One day, Anya opened her inbox to see an email saying: “New York Times Journalist Trying to Get In Touch with You.” Ian Urbina had stumbled across her blog while researching an article on people living in the cars in the US. After confirming the story, the article appeared on the front page. The surprise came the next time she checked her email at an Internet cafe, there were emails from people across the world. A year ago no one had known she even existed and now hundreds poured in with well-wishes, advice and sharing their own stories.

    Anya is no longer homeless the day she decided to admit she was. You can visit her blog for updates — http://www.wanderingscribe.blogspot.com

    p.s. As I write this comment, it’s a pouring outside and nagged by persistent coughing, I’m reminded of my younger days growing up all alone as my late brother’s life was crippled by cerebral palsy and nobody to share my days with. To quote Anya, “For so long I’d been unable to read the real world, afraid of scorn. But writing the blog was anonymous and safe..” gave me a sense of perspective and belonging and that I was no longer alone.

    Like

  3. Yo Jan, i think Warren buffet overtook Bill Gates in terms of wealth… in fact, i think Gates fell to Third place already, some Mexican Tycoon is on 2nd place… =)

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

