Brunei Darussalam

SOLITARY CONFINEMENT

Do we really need more food photos seeing how there are more food blogs than we can digest? Food critics aka the women seem insatiable when it comes to the one thing that make the world go round—FOOD! As I confine myself to my studio for a few days now recovering from sinusitis (happens when I’m in and out of extreme temperatures repeatedly), I decided this would be a great time to archive 1.3TB of disks onto DVD. So far I barely scratched 20% of all that’s in dire need of backing up.

solitudecafe-004.jpg solitudecafe-003.jpg
Chocolate Fudge Cake | Sticky Date Pudding w/ Ice Cream © Jan Shim Photography

I got distracted by these mouth watering items when cleaning up my gallery folder. Since I first posted these on my blog, I’ve not been happy with how they were post-processed and I thought I should a much deserved make-over. These items are from my 2005 shoot for SOLITUDE CAFE, the Islamic Book store cum internet cafe, gives news meaning to the phrase food for thought!

solitudecafe-005.jpg
Variety of Freshly Squeezed Juices © Jan Shim Photography

solitudecafe-008.jpg solitudecafe-006.jpg
Choco-nana | Cappuccino © Jan Shim Photography

solitudecafe-002.jpg solitudecafe-001.jpg
Sloppy Joe | Fettuccine © Jan Shim Photography

solitudecafe-009.jpg
Spaghetti Bolognaise © Jan Shim Photography

solitudecafe-010.jpg
Navarin of Lamb © Jan Shim Photography

solitudecafe-011.jpg
Baked Potato w/ Side Salad & Baked Toppings © Jan Shim Photography

solitudecafe-014.jpg  solitudecafe-013.jpg
Freshly Squeezed Juices: Green Apple & Watermelon

If you’re hungry for more reasons to live another day, follow this link to other food links that are just as distracting.

17 thoughts on “SOLITARY CONFINEMENT

  1. Err. . . your photos just blew my dieting to hell! Sabotage! Treachery! Please feel better so that you can stop going through all your delicious food pictures. 😛

    Like

  2. Err. . . your photos just blew my dieting to hell! Sabotage! Treachery!

    I have a secret agenda and that’s to make people hungry so the food economy remains vibrantly healthy and consumers spoilt for choice though the same cannot be said for those who over-indulge :-P.

    Please feel better so that you can stop going through all your delicious food pictures.

    There’s a saying, when you’re not feeling well, eat! By that, I meant when people are stressed out the natural escape from this reallity is to stuff themselves. When I am well, you’ll probably revert to seeing more shots of salads but hopefully laced with chunks of salmon like the ones we’re used to at Excapade Sushi!

    yummy!

    Indeed!

    Hmm…I didn’t know Solitude Cafe has these. Looks really good.

    I have a copy of their menu with me and several copies were left with my other clients such as Brunei Shell Petroleum and they have other great items like: tiramisu, tarragon chicken, shepard’s pie, chicken pot pie but sadly, as I write this comment, I received a text message from Solitude owner that they are no longer in business.

    Although I never made enough trips to the Gadong Mall much less to Solitude to eat, I’m delighted to have been a part of business concept. I wish them the best in their future endaevours!

    Like

  3. but sadly, as I write this comment, I received a text message from Solitude owner that they are no longer in business.

    That’s right, their Mall outlet is closed, but I thought they were gonna open in BSB next to the Bean? Could’ve sworn I saw Solitude logos on the window…

    Like

  4. Solitude was cool. I used to spend hours there – perhaps that’s the problem . . . I should have spent dollars! The navarin of lamb was possibly the best offered in Brunei.

    Like

  5. Solitude was cool. I used to spend hours there – perhaps that’s the problem . . . I should have spent dollars! The navarin of lamb was possibly the best offered in Brunei.

    I used to bring friends there especially those who had never been there before and have a cup of coffee, hardly the sort of habits that would be healthy for the cafe business.

    Jan, that choc fudge cake looks like its floating. So dreamy…!

    Ah yes, floating and coming to a diet near you! 🙂

    Like

  6. Love the solitude photos Jan Shim, the colors are really g yeah.. they closed already. They said they moved to their original office for the meantime.. So sayang they closed, I really like that place.. atmosphere, books & food & drinks are really good there.. Especially like the lasagne and the weekend roasts last time 🙂 I thought the idea of having weekend roasts (just like during boarding school) was really cool hehehe..

    Like

  7. Thanks for your email! Sorry I couldn’t get back to you sooner. To answer your question, ummm….Valentines Day went okay. I need to be a lot more prepared next year, but at least I could learn from this year what is expected, you know? She got me an amazing gift and spent a good amount of money. I was blown away!

    Tiger

    Like

  8. Love the solitude photos Jan Shim, the colors are really g yeah.. they closed already. They said they moved to their original office for the meantime.. So sayang they closed, I really like that place.. atmosphere, books & food & drinks are really good there.. Especially like the lasagne and the weekend roasts last time I thought the idea of having weekend roasts (just like during boarding school) was really cool hehehe..

    Wow! more emotions pouring out of another former patron. Who would have thought that a singular name written in TimesNewRoman font has more than one pesonality and had certainly attracted no less number of fans! Such is the dynamics of running a business here where the lack of critical mass poses a very challenging proposition for every restaurant/cafe owner.

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

