Brunei Darussalam

FLAT OUT WEEK

A flat battery on an extremely wet morning and seeing two badly smashed cars yesterday on my way to a Microsoft shoot, the year of the rat once again took its tolls on the road including a certain parked vehicle whose owner (me) left the headlights on for the entire time I was at work till lunch. After a challenging day shooting in the rain and overcoming a couple of near misses on the road, you can imagine my appreciation for a rather uneventful day today. Mornings in SHIMworld begin with my first cup of Nescafe Gold before everything s-l-o-w-l-y falls into place.

hsbc-premier.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

So what am I doing with Microsoft this time? A year ago also during this time of Chinese New Year celebrations, I produced the official images of Microsoft’s new office in preparation for the their official launching ceremony of Microsoft Brunei Darussalam and also the launch of Windows Vista operating system. This time, it’s for new assignment and I’m not at liberty to reveal the nature of the work but here is a couple of hints of the shooting location :).

microsoft-chairs.jpg microsoft-patterns.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

The rain persisted throughout the day and during lunch at I Lotus, the wind grew increasingly strong blowing things across the drive way and trees were bent a lot more than I could (at my age). I enjoyed the mood the rain and wind brought to lunch and as I was winding down for the day, it was the perfect end to a perfect day (I happen to also like the rain as much as I do the sun).

i-lotus-napkin.jpg
i-lotus-icedlemon-tea.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

Or so I thought until Wan Kong (WK), the Country Manager of Microsoft Brunei, dropped me off to pick up my car. Hitting the remote failed to open the door, turning the key to open the door didn’t set off the alarm I knew I was in trouble—the battery had gone completely flat after I unknowingly left the headlights on. Why this ten year old car has no warning is grrrrr! To cut a long story short, WK stood in the drizzle with me and helped lifted the really back-breaking heavy battery into his IS 300. Off to the nearest stockist and back with a new battery in a zip, it was great to hear the engine finally turned over.

There I was, stuck in the rain with WK the whole time who went out of his way to make sure I was all good to head home, a 1.5 hour’s journey in this weather. No corporate slogans communicate partnerships and commitment as well as this with a personal touch—from lunch with Tareq Muhmood to sharing the weather with WK, thank you for making my week great!

3 thoughts on “FLAT OUT WEEK

  1. Mr.Shim. I have been viewing your pictures for so long, that finally I just had to comment. Yes, it’s 1.44am, and I am still up and surfing looking and learning from all the photos in the world (well I’m starting off with Brunei dulu lah, hehe).

    Your photos, sir, are real photos. Not snapshots, photos. They are out of the ordinary! Your perspective of the world is so unique that your pictures certainly portray what you call ‘SHIMWORLD’.

    All I have to say is, thank you, for being such an inspiration to me. I shall strive to become at par with you one day. Keep the photos coming, feed my cravings.

    Thank you!

    Like

  2. Greetings Syafiq,

    I’m happy you find my work inspirational—finally mission accomplished and I can now retire and stop ‘punishing’ myself to produce art. Hee! But seriously, you’re most welcome and thank you very much for visiting.

    I grew up being told 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration over and over. Today I think 30% inspiration, 30% aspiration, 30% perspiration and 10% unknown factor would be more realistic—it’s harder than ever today to get inspired even though we seem ready to grab a shot or two in our tropical heat. I am someone who constantly struggles to find inspiration but when I do, I get very sleep deprived. Wedding photography is one such genre I have trouble with and I have two Award winning wedding photogs offering to help out. Stephen Loh of Lyrical Moments in Singapore has asked if I would be interested in a program he’s setting up and Louis Pang of Louis Pang Photography in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia have given me an opportunity to shoot with him either in KL or KK. I’ve been turning down Chinese and Malay wedding enquiries, so far I’m shooting just one a year when I am really in the right frame of mind to shoot. The last wedding shoot was A December Wedding to Remember.

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

