Brunei Darussalam

GONG XI FA CAI

February 6, 2008  On the eve of a another promising year, 3 minutes to Chinese New Year and the neighbourhood is in high spirits ushering in the Year of the Rat with deafening fireworks that are quicky gaining in frequency and loudness. Fireworks aren’t the only noises keeping the neighbours awake. My Nokia E51 has been rather melodious having received a steady stream of Gong Xi Fa Cai greetings in English and Chinese.

excapadeyeesang.jpg
Excapade Sushi Yee Sang © Jan Shim Photography

On the eve of Chinese New Year at our reunion dinner with my parents and grandma, we carried on the tradition of a bath with pamelo leaves (a practice to rid ourself of negative elements so we can usher in the new year with new beginnings) and to further enhance my recent good luck, we introduced Chinese-style raw fish salad more commonly called Yee Sang, another tradition considered a symbol of abundance, prosperity and vigor.

Many thanks to Excapade Sushi for their abundance of salmon slices in the Yee Sang take out, the entire family enjoyed the communal tossing of yee sang in the hope of attracting prosperity and good luck. This photo is one of a number of shots taken at Excapade Sushi Gadong for a HSBC Premier promo appearing as a full page print ad in newspapers in English and Chinese.

Also, the new Samsung refrigerator which I won at a recent Baiduri Bank lucky draw couldn’t have come at a better time (winning the Toyota VIOS would have also been quite good too) and the delivery to my home this afternoon also meant that we have additional room to keep our food and drinks.

Gong Xi Fa Cai to all friends, associates and readers of SHIMWORLD. Thank you for your support and most of all for making a difference in my life!

Related links

15 thoughts on “GONG XI FA CAI

  1. Just stumbled in here from Google after an unproductive hour looking for fashion photography assignments (long story) to find pictures of food !

    Love the design of your site and the pictures are amazing. You now have another person subscribing to your feed.

    Happy New Year – I hope it brings all you wish for.

    Like

  2. Hey Jan,

    The Yu-Sang sure does look yummy. One interesting fact about Yu-Sang is that even though it may looks like a chinese tradition, it is NOT. Although we do the Yu-Sang thing alot in Singapore but to my surprise, this is not a practise here in Hong Kong. I brought the Yu-Sang package from Singapore to Hong Kong and my relatives were asking me what that is 🙂 and I explained to them and I think they will be having for the first time in the next few days.

    How will they find the taste??? I will let you know.

    Gong Hei Fatt Choy!!! Nin Nin Yau Yu!!!

    Like

  3. Hi Jan,

    Xing Nian Kuai Le, sorry again Jan for not being able to attend your open house yesterday. As expected, I lost track of time. Thank you for the invite and wish your family wealth, prosperity and health.

    Three things essential in life, ‘money’; ‘health’ and ‘happiness’, as said by my favourite Feng-Shui Master Lillian Too… 😀

    Like

  4. Very nice shot there, I especially love the arrangement of the chopsticks.

    Thanks. The chopsticks placement began as HSBC’s concept then it morphed into what you see in the final print ad that appeared in the Borneo Bulletin and United Daily News. The placement varied between having more or less chopsticks, a question of whether to show more or less, crowded or just right!

    Happy New Year Mr. Shim Please send me some of this food in the pictures UPS Red, I’ll pay postage.

    8-O!

    Just stumbled in here from Google after an unproductive hour looking for fashion photography assignments (long story) to find pictures of food ! Love the design of your site and the pictures are amazing. You now have another person subscribing to your feed.

    Greetings Mark. Gong Xi Fa Cai and welcome to Shimworld. I love how Google connects more people than Nokia phones! Thank you for visiting, leaving a comment and subscribing to my feeds.

    May the Year of the Rat bring you prosperity and STRIKE plenty of GOLD this year!

    I’m happy to share this generousity with you, Colin. Life’s good as it is and I hope the new year brings us more peace and harmony than wealth (gold bars included).

    The Yu-Sang sure does look yummy. One interesting fact about Yu-Sang is that even though it may looks like a Chinese tradition, it is NOT. Although we do the Yu-Sang thing alot in Singapore but to my surprise, this is not a practise here in Hong Kong. I brought the Yu-Sang package from Singapore to Hong Kong and my relatives were asking me what that is and I explained to them and I think they will be having for the first time in the next few days. How will they find the taste??? I will let you know.

    Interesting factoid. I wonder what other differences there exists between Chinese traditions that are practiced elsewhere and not in our neck of woods. For one, I know the Chinese “Valentine’s Day” falls on the last day (15th) of Chinese New Year while the rest of the Western world celebrates today, Feb 14th and and yesterday Feb 13 being the 7th day of lunar new year was the ‘People’s Day’ or renri, the common man’s birthday, the day when everyone grows a year older.

    Even more interesting is this revelation I discovered on Wikipedia, “It is the day when tossed raw fish salad, yusheng, is eaten. This is a custom primarily among the overseas Chinese in Southeast Asia, such as Malaysia and Singapore. People get together to toss the colourful salad and make wishes for continued wealth and prosperity.” Over here in Brunei, Singapore and Malaysia where Yee Sang is tossed during our Reunion Dinner, Yee Sang in fact does exist as a Chinese tradition and is tossed on this day! But then, the article also went on to say this is celebrated by overseas Chinese in Asia, notably Malaysia, Singapore so you’re right.

    Xing Nian Kuai Le, sorry again Jan for not being able to attend your open house yesterday. As expected, I lost track of time. Thank you for the invite and wish your family wealth, prosperity and health. Three things essential in life, ‘money’; ‘health’ and ‘happiness’, as said by my favourite Feng-Shui Master Lillian Too…

    Hi Liza, you’re not the only one who lost track of time. We had so many guests that time shot by so quickly we hadn’t realised who came and who didn’t until we had time to regain consciousness. But I am happy the open house went well and I think if we decide to do it again next year we’ll see how we can improve things. A lot rides on how busy with work we are before the festive seasons starts so state of mind is definitely a big factor. Your little ones were definitely dressed for the auspicious celebration!

    To everyone who sent well wishes for the new year, thank you very much!

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

