Brunei Darussalam

GEOMETRIC PROPORTIONS

geometric-007.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

One of the first architectural work I was hired to do a few years back was photographing a series of buildings for Teck Guan Holdings web portfolio. In recent times, however, I’ve seen many new developments of architectural interests in the Brunei capital. It’s clearly the sign of the times when bolder buildings of various proportions are popping up faster than we can count them. I was engaged to photograph the new facade of the Kiulap branch of Baiduri Bank and I saw an opportunity to capture this not-yet-occupied building (above) right next door. That time of the day lit by the morning sun on its left gave me just the right moment shy of unsightly shadows.

geometric-001.jpg geometric-003.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

A few weeks earlier, in yet another series of shoots for a local manufacturer of roof tiles, I visited many construction sites and interiors of new buildings that are presently under going rennovation. Time and again, I’m surprised to find the quality of work beaming with sophistication in simplicity. Here (above) is said to be an upscale spa in the works.

geometric-002.jpg geometric-004.jpg
© Jan Shim Photography

As far as quality materials and ideas go, there is really nothing money cannot buy. Workmanship included, of course. I came across this exquisite home while looking for a location of my next shoot and discovering this property by accident. This house is in its advanced stages of completion and looking at the package with these stoned being laid, I couldn’t help feeling very zen.

I am beginning to understand the meaning of our tourism tagline A Kingdom of Unexpected Treasures better now. Seeing is believing!

5 thoughts on “GEOMETRIC PROPORTIONS

  1. It’s the only Baiduri Bank in Kiulap where Coffee Zone is. Baiduri had a make-over and their corporate colour is now more promiment than ever. Whoever was responsible for the design I think has done a fantastic job. You may have gotten used to it that you no longer see it as a feature of Kiulap.

    Like

  2. I was never really interested in Architectural photography, but I thought I would be, so I bought a 10-20 Sigma, but after taking pictures of Masjid Jame and Masjid SOAS, there’s really not much to shoot.

    But you take the mundane (the bank) and make it look really good. Makes me wonder how great the photos would turn out if the buildings were great to begin with (Jame & SOAS mosque, Royal Regalia, the Royal Palace).

    It just makes me wonder …

    Like

  3. Zul, the white building in case you haven’t figured out, isn’t the Baiduri Bank. It’s a stone’s throw from where Baiduri Bank is though I do not know what the building is called. The ASIAMONEY magazine article featuring Baiduri Bank where my photo was published can be seen or downloaded here.

    Like

  4. “Zul, the white building in case you haven’t figured out, isn’t the Baiduri Bank.”

    Heheh, lets amend, shall we ?

    “But you take the mundane (an UNOCCUPIED BUILDING) and make it look really good. Makes me wonder how great the photos would turn out if the buildings were great to begin with (Jame & SOAS mosque, Royal Regalia, the Royal Palace).

    It just makes me wonder … ”

    Heheh. the picture still looks superb no matter which designated building it is. 😀

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

