Uncategorized

Bruschetta with Tomato and Basil


© Jan Shim Photography    [Gallery]

This whole week I seem to have been bitten by an Italian food bug and it all started because my wife has a craving for salad. Seeing how I’m on a roll and that my wife and daughter loves Italian food, Bruschetta seems the obvious choice for pre-dinner finger food. A previous attempt at this didn’t yield quite as much satisfaction as this evening’s and that’s coz today’s ingredients were close to the real thing~basil, extra virgin olive oil, balsamic vinegar, black pepper, etc.

3 thoughts on “Bruschetta with Tomato and Basil

  1. Probably the key is to toast your slices of bread with a thin layer of garlic butter first and cover the bread with all those great ingredients at the last second!
    So many times have I been disappointed with soggy samples.
    Actually I do think that the best Bruschetta are home-made!
    Good on you, Jan!

    Like

  2. Before I set out to prepare the ingredients, my maid had taken an initiative to make four slices of her version – with everything on the bread, thrown into the oven to toast the bread, a method that resulted in crispy bread but the fresh garlic bits lost their softness. Overall, if you only wanted similar looking results this would be the way to go- quick and easy!

    My preparation was a lot more elaborate and time consuming. As you noticed, the bread was toasted separately and was the last thing to do after all was done. Each slide of bread had butter spread, not garlic butter but just the Australian Golden Churn (slightly saled variety) that worked very well.

    I have my toast for breakfast done this way too, with Alfalfa Sprouts added to the mix and a hot cup of Nescafe Gold (German blend) each morning.

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

