Brunei Darussalam

OLD LABELS NEW LIFE

old_labels.jpg
© PHOTOGRAPHY/DESIGN BY JAN SHIM

Remember the days when you got your first job and one of the first of a long list of priorities was looking sharp for work? We went shopping. Remember the euphoric moment when you’re handed your first pay check and what did right after that? We went shopping. We’re a predictable bunch when it comes to newfound wealth and I was certainly no exception. As a marketing student, I had learnt about conspicuous consumption and it became an economic force that’s difficult to put a lid on when you are a demographic in this rat race!

In the 13 years of corporate IT, I accumulated a wardrobe of names such as Armani, Lanvin, Ralph Lauren, Zegna and adding to them came Marks & Spencer work clothes that were a better fit for my physique and wallet. Then there were after-hours clothing by Guess, Polo, etc. Last week, sick of an ever bulging wardrobe, I cleared out years of work wear that used to symbolize my existence in the corporate world. I’m happy they have now found a more deserving home.

For three years now, I’ve gone completely casual with Levi’s, Guess, French Connection and Esprit. And of course, I think it’s hard to find someone who do not have more than a handful of super casuals by Giordano and  Bossini. What can I say, old habits die hard … we just shift tastes. Oh btw, I’m not wealthy, I just have misplaced priorities like many of us who live on ths planet called earth, just a little less guilty than many I know.

9 thoughts on “OLD LABELS NEW LIFE

  1. Hey, got a few comments:
    1. Like the way u took out ur old clothes and photograph them, the way u summarised ur corporate climb and “demise” 😀

    2. I like the photos by u (what’s new ??), care to share ur post-processing secrets?

    3. Ok I used to think this guy is loaded, ok, now i know u r rich, and with many ideas. I like this idea of taking out ur old clothes and breathing new life into them

    Good work !

    Like

  2. May I never look at neatly stacked shirts in the same way…somewhere within those clearly defined threads is the meaning of life.

    Jan your photos surreal qualities are growing leaps and bounds…beautiful.

    Like

  3. Hi, just really want to add this to the man…

    Jan really don’t shoot for the sake of shooting, he showed me something today, that Jan Shim is a man who shoot his life out.

    Its your gift 😀

    Like

  4. Hey,

    Moving over to apparel photography instead?

    Jokes aside, i think of the perks of being a photographer is that you can be casual in your daily life, having never been in the “real” business world, i only have 2 set of work clothes.

    You seem to have a good choice of clothes btw.

    cheers!
    geraldtay

    Like

  5. Colin Q,

    “1. Like the way u took out ur old clothes and photograph them, the way u summarised ur corporate climb and demise”

    Thanks and appropriate choice of word. Thirteen years of corporate IT gave me a wealth of experience at different rungs of the ladder but at the same time, it had also taken away opportunities to expand one’s life portfolio. I could never sit still and do the same thing over and over (something to do with me being an Arian/Rooster). I braved the elements and left the career behind to pursue interests in an internet business but along the way, got into professional photography completely by accident!

    “2. I like the photos by u (what’s new ??), care to share ur post-processing secrets?”

    If something is a secret then I’m bound by a gentlemanly etiquette to keep it that way. 🙂

    “3. Ok I used to think this guy is loaded, ok, now i know u r rich, and with many ideas. I like this idea of taking out ur old clothes and breathing new life into them”

    On being loaded, when I am on assignment, my bag and waist pouches are packed with heavy camera equipment that leave me pretty sore at the end of the day. If you wish to trade places one day, let me know. 🙂

    Like

  6. Just know you this morning. But… You don’t look that old… 13 years… then you must be like…

    Hee hee hee~~

    Your work is very different from Jason… Where is the photo gallery??? Or you don’t have one??? I don’t think I am that blind to spot one… must be my contact lens not working…

    Like

  7. Rob,

    I owe much of my humanity to the people around me and this includes people whom I got to know online from my Subaru Impreza days. You, being one of these people who strive to make a difference and today you’re co-founder and CTO of Red Lambda (http://www.redlambda.com). Well done. We are who we are because of others’ belief in our aspirations.

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

