Brunei Darussalam

38 YEARS ON. THIS ROOSTER STILL CROWS!

birthday.jpg

I can’t remember the last time I celebrated my birthday and that’s because I don’t (not normally, anyway). In fact, I used to wish no one remembered it and made a fuss one way or another, at least that was the case when I was an IT professional of 13 years. Since leaving IT in 2004, not only have I not looked back, I have been looking forward to redefine what life means to me. By accident I found myself venturing into professional photography and the rest, as they say, is history!This year, however, I turn 38 and what better time and opportunity to celebrate an auspicious number, right? Well not really. It was my wonderful wife and my sister in law who organised dinner at the Pantai of The Empire Hotel and Country Club and then conveniently brought out a surprise Tiramisu cake. That night, as it turned out, three other diners celebrated their birthdays too. Pictured here are my wonderful wife Chris and our kids, Jamie and Jewel. Thanks Julie, Pau Lin and my mother-in-law for a great night! Oh, and the gift, a coffee mug that’s 2 inch taller than my regular one, we all know I could do with more caffeine! 🙂

People born in the year of the Rooster are usually very observant. They are brave, resilient and tenacious but can also be quite self-absorbed, pretentious, and overly romantic. Most of the time, they are very accurate and precise with their observation. These people certainly love to find themselves in the spotlight, they love entertaining friends and adore meeting new people, and even unexpected and uncertain circumstances are not a barrier for them. It is almost impossible to find someone born in this year looking dowdy or untidy. The fact is that these people are usually the best dressed and groomed of all other people. They are actively interested in clothes, colors, and accessories, and are usually very critical of their own appearance as well as of the appearance of those around them. People born in the year of the Rooster like to be noticed and flattered. Such a person might dress a little flashily with this in mind, but in his heart, he/she is completely conservative. Roosters always appear attractive and beautifully turned out. They are sociable and love to receive attention. Others may criticize them for being exhibitionists but the fact that they are compassionate, wise, and have a brave nature which comes to the fore when others need their help, makes up for that deficiency. It is difficult for these people to accept advice because of their strong independent spirit. These people are often confident in their own judgments and choices. There are times when these people may be too straight-forward which can cause some problems in relationships with others. So it would be wise sometimes not to express their opinions in order to keep the peace. Roosters can drive people away with their need to be right if they cannot relax and let the other person have a say. ~ Wikipedia

Aries is the first sign of the Zodiac and associated with fresh vigor and new beginnings. Individuals born under this sign are thought to have a confident, aggressive, energetic, active, adventurous, enthusiastic, fair, passionate, and pioneering character but one which is also prone to selfishness, boastfulness, intolerance, impulsiveness, and impatience. In terms of anatomy Aries is said to rule the cranium, jaw, facial bones, brain, upper teeth, carotid arteries, and nerve centers. Physically they are said to be tall in stature, and athletic in appearance. ~ Wikipedia

Famous people whose birthdays are on March 30:
Celine Dion | Norah Jones | MC Hammer | Paul Reiser | Eric Clapton | Warren Beatty | Vincent van Gogh

39 thoughts on “38 YEARS ON. THIS ROOSTER STILL CROWS!

  1. Jan,

    Happy birthday!!
    I wish you all the best !!!! :))
    I just wanted to tell you that you rule …. and that you’re such a cool guy because you took the plunge to become a photography pro – and as it turned out, a very successful one! ^.^
    Enjoy your life, be aware of all the small wonders around us, feel the love all your friends and especially your family gives you! You deserve it! 🙂

    Take care,
    Berthold

    Like

  2. Jan, the PRO =D

    Happy belated bday oh ya!! haha! 38? dat number still sounds far to me but u hav nothing to wori bout. Coz at least at 38, u have been to my dream place..U knw where! Arghhhh~~~ I shud have insisted not to browse thru ur that particularly “wonderful” gallery! Even merely BROWSING thru made me so annoyed at u for a moment. To make mysev feel better now & to be better than u, I will make sure i will land mysev “there” anytime BEFORE i turn 38! LOL =D

    HAPPY BELATED BDAY JAN!!

    P/S: Im reli here to greet u happy 38th bday =)

    Like

  3. JS!

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY OLD MAN 🙂 wishing you a warm 38th birthday with your beautiful family and closest of friends. Although it was a surprise to know that it was just your birthday a few days ago, what more it was your 38th!

    Anyways, stay cool.. your photography rocks! i would have to say that its the best quality images of a photographer i’ve seen in a long long time. keep it up mate.

    peace,
    yaz

    Like

  4. Happy (belated) Birthday!! You know, I’d mail you a gift, but considering how the last package went (or is going for a few months now), I’ll just have to stick with sending you some warm wishes 🙂

    Like

  5. Hey Jan…Just dropping by to wish you a Happy Belated Birthday..Still looking young from the photos :p All the best to you n your family and esp in your career…and keep up with the good photo taking skills 🙂

    Like

  6. Happy Birthday to one of the most talented photographers Brunei has to offer! Remember, you’re only as old as you feel and something tells me that you’re not one of those guys who feel old everyday! Keep up the good work and continue to take inspiring photos!

    Like

  7. Hahaha.. I remembered ur bday was coming up like weeks ago.. !! Happy belated birthday JS, wishing u tonnes on joy and happiness in your 38th year in life. Hope all is good and well!!!!!! happy to see u spent the day well with the loved ones 😉

    Like

  8. You are getting up there in years!

    I think you and I met August of 2001. We were both on NASIOC, i-club at the time, and I was looking for a Link ECU. You owned a beautiful subaru wagon, and me with my new US-Spec WRX.

    Then I got my GT2835 from you!

    Amazing…hope we continue for another 6 years.

    ^.^

    Like

  9. Hey Jan,

    Happy 38th Birthday. wishing you a prosperous year ahead, good health to you, your wife and your 2 lovely kids !

    Take care!

    Like

  10. Opps…i’m late….anyway; Happy belated birthday Jan.

    38th….no worries….you still look very young….

    All the best…

    Like

  11. Happy belated bday Jan.

    Despite of our age gap, we have the same interests, photography and Subaru 😉

    Your work has alwasy been inspirational. Keep it up man.

    Like

  12. Even though you are older then me…I think you still deserve a belated happy 38th birthday wish from me 😛

    Happy Happy Happy Birthday…I shout hip hip hurray on your very special day.

    Happy Happy Happy Birthday…to YOUUUUUUUU.

    xx000xxx00xx

    Like

  13. Damn, 38???

    Looking good bro!!!

    This is a good month as my mom’s is th 4th, my dad’s is the 6th and mine is the 16th.

    Hope you had a blast!!!

    Leo

    Like

  14. Hey Brother Jan! Maxim here! Happy Belated Bday man! Sorry for the belatedness ^^ Hope you had a great one, and I pray you have many more to come in the Blessed Years ahead! Stay cool, bro!

    Like

  15. Happy Birthday my man.
    Make sure you celebrate one of your birthdays with the same energy you put into whatevery you do. It will be a great one to remmeber.

    Party On!

    Like

  16. Wah haha…. Y all is burfday greetings?! I wanna join also… Hehe… Happy BelaTed birthday…. Wish U all D best when U r 38…. Nothing much to say…. ^^… YeN

    Like

  17. hey uncle.

    happy belated birthday :). sorry, i didn’t know it was your birthday. wish you all the best for the year ahead and may you have many more birthdays to come.

    p/s: I’m a rooster too :P.

    Like

  18. have a great bday …though a bit late …enjoy it to the fullest and over take all the ppl in ure world with loads of energy and fun!!!paint the town red eventhough u may be older ….no harm painting it more redder and if police officials ask…or arrest u …they will give lenicy towards the old!!!1grinz

    Like

  19. Heylo QQ,

    I know this is a bit too late, but Happie belated Birthday! My bro left you a reply, so I guess I’m leaving you one too. Wish you all the best in everything you do and good luck. Hehe! Do enjoy being 38, cos you’ll never get to be 38 again. Haha. See ya! Live life to the fullest!

    Baii…

    Like

  20. Woohoo… I am a famous march baby too… lol….It was a nice night out and I hope u are getting mileage out of the mug… haha..

    Like

  21. Hi Jan,

    Just browsed thru your blog and noticed that you turned 38 in April 2007.

    Well, as a good friend of yours, we wish you happy belated birthday. God bless!

    Jay & family
    9th June 2007

    Like

  22. Greeting would never be late:) Happy birthday. I must say your wife looks so stunning, and i like your daughter most. She’s so cute and pretty. Keep your BOTH eyes on her or she would be kidnap too early by naught boys.

    Like

Be real. Let me know what you think ...

